Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

exporting dxf from fusion into 2d design has gone wrong

28 REPLIES 28
SOLVED
Message 1 of 29
bobbonney78
3413 Views, 28 Replies

exporting dxf from fusion into 2d design has gone wrong

Hi guys I'm a DT teacher and have a new role in a school and i need to learn fusion 360 to help with GCSE students. Having started to learn last week i have been able to design using the program and export into a 3d printer which worked brilliantly. i now would like to use a CNC router to cut out the shapes. This is where my problems begin see attached. The dxf file from fusion is fine. See below. However in order for me to add this to the oxford router i need to import this into 2d Design V2 but the curves and fillets go badly wrong. Can anyone help please. Screen Shot 2017-03-09 at 16.09.31.png

28 REPLIES 28
Message 2 of 29

Does the Oxford router only recognize .dxf files, or can you send it G-Code?

Seth Madore
Owner, Liberty Machine, Inc.
Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two.
Message 3 of 29

Hi Seth the usual way we get the router to work is through 2d design, but this wasn't allowing the curves or fillets on the design from fusion 360 to transfer, but in the software that came with the router it accepts stl files, so i tried this today and it worked but took over an hour for one side to be printed which is not ideal. So trying to work it out as a dxf file as we know this will be so much faster. It doesn't accept G-Code I'm afraid.

Message 4 of 29

A couple of thoughts, for what it's worth;

There is a .dxf post on the CAM Post Library, is that what you are using? I do believe you would need to apply toolpaths for it to function..

2017-03-10_04h46_42.png

Second, what DOES the program actually look like?