Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cam issue with pocket

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
njngp
224 Views, 9 Replies

Cam issue with pocket

Hi All,

I am new to CAM settings and there are many terminology to learn. I know how to design but a complete beginner for CAM.

I tried various tools to make the pocket but the inner surface is not smooth. If any one can help me to select the correct tool with

setting I appriciate very much. Part file is attached.

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
LibertyMachine
in reply to: njngp

Take a look at this attempt and see if it looks any better than your attempt(s).

To open the file: File > New Design from File. Double-click the .f3d file you just downloaded.

I opted to use a Scallop routine, although other choices would work, such as Ramp, Morph Spiral or 3D Contour. I prefer the Scallop for how I can control and restrict it.

I also added a tool to remove the majority of the material.

Simulation still looks choppy, although I strongly suspect that's just the quality of the sim. 

Seth Madore
Owner, Liberty Machine, Inc.
Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two.
Message 3 of 10
njngp
in reply to: LibertyMachine

Hi Mr.Madore,

Thanks again for the quick reply and I will try this and will inform about the results.

Best regards,

Nihal Perera

Message 4 of 10
njngp

Hi Mr. Madore,

We tested the data. In the attached photo there are two holes drills with Bore (manually)

and the Circular.

A= we just did as per data settings and the surface is rough and the operator says that the ball mill is jumping from one point to

other point according to him.

B= I changed the parameters to get very small stepover and the finish is very good. Also in the nc files I can see that G41/G42 is