Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best practice for importing Solidworks files?

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
jgaertner
1880 Views, 11 Replies

Best practice for importing Solidworks files?

Hello Forum,

I am new to Fusion 360. We have Soldiworks 2014 in the shop. We would like to be able to import files/parts from Solidworks to machine with our CNC mill. I have tried IGES format for my first CNC project but is seems the part required the use of the PATCH command and selecting all the faces of the part to Stitch them together. This was in an earlier post, when I was getting some real weird reaction from Fusion when I tried to drill some holes in CAM.

So are there any guidelines or suggestions people have for importing SolidWorks files? I have searched the archive, but it is pretty thin.

Thanks,

Jgaertner

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
HughesTooling
in reply to: jgaertner

STP should work better and keep solids solid and you have the option to use New Design From File. If you don't mind uploading through the Data Panel you could try uploading the sldprt file.

Clipboard02.png

Mark

Mark Hughes
Owner, Hughes Tooling
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 3 of 12
Steinwerks

I'm with Mark, just upload the .SLDPRT

Last time I tried, even the 2016 format was translating perfectly (although it was not a complex part).
Neal Stein

New to Fusion 360 CAM? Click here for an introduction to 2D Milling, here for 2D Turning.

Find me on:
Instagram and YouTube
Message 4 of 12
jgaertner

Hello Forum,

So I did import the SW 2014 part into Fusion and everything worked very nicely.