Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Assy. component posting

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
dndpatches
263 Views, 7 Replies

Assy. component posting

Hello,

I am new to Fusion 360, I am familiar with using Inventor. So I created an assembly in Fusion 360 of multiple components and I now want to create tool paths for each of the individual components. I am not sure how to do this? Should have I created the tool path for each component as I created it? I'm sure there is a proper way to do this.

Thanks 

Dave P.
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Steinwerks
in reply to: dndpatches

The simplest way is to make sure that the part you are programming is the only one in the Setup. You can simply hide the other components in the assembly while doing this and the CAM will ignore them.

Alternatively if you didn't want that much data in one place you could pull each part into its own assembly file in the project and link it back to the original so any changes will populate automatically. This really depends on how many parts you have to program, of course. If you have 100 I'd probably go this route, but less than ten the other can be much easier.

Neal Stein

New to Fusion 360 CAM? Click here for an introduction to 2D Milling, here for 2D Turning.

Find me on:
Instagram and YouTube
Message 3 of 8
novec001
in reply to: Steinwerks

Sorry to bring a semi-unrelated question into a semi-old thread, but how do you "pull each part into its own assembly file in the project and link it back to the original"? It seems like the perfect answer to my headaches, but I can't seem to find out how to do it.

Message 4 of 8
Steinwerks
in reply to: novec001

@novec001 wrote: