Expert Elites Discuss Autodesk Construction Cloud

Brand-Portrait-Construction-Gallery-9446_with_overlay.jpg

by Donnia Tabor-Hanson

Hey everyone! My name is Donnia Tabor-Hanson, and I'm an Autodesk Expert Elite based out of Tennessee. Where I work, we have been successfully using Autodesk Construction Cloud for years. Let me tell you our story of how we get started with a project setup through the use of ACC.

Everyone needs a process set in place for setting up a project in the cloud. You could use a spreadsheet, Survey Monkey, Google Docs, ticket system, or any other of the many possibilities that can be used to put information in for the Account Administrator(s) setting up the projects to use. The Account Administrator could be a team, one person, or several teammates following the same procedures in setting up a project. Next is setting up a project template in ACC.

You do not want to be individually adding project folders to each project. So, when planning the folders, look into how you want to share files within and/or outside your internal team. Your Administrator(s) will be able to set up templates as you need them. You may have one overall company template, or, you might have templates based on project types. (For example, your multi-family team may need fewer folders than your hospital team). If you know who will be on all projects, set up the members in the template(s). These may be other admins or your BIM Manager. You can also set permissions for different member types. Some may have only viewing permissions, while others can work on the projects. Admins will define folders for the template to use. Each should be well-named for clarity. An admin can add any sub-folders to the template as required. Someone should add documentation for directions of use should be added in the template. Maybe set up a folder for “Template Administration” to hold information everyone should learn about during training on the ACC template.