Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ACAD vs Revit

ACAD vs Revit

I would like to see a Revit type slice feature and other improvements in ACAD. I would also like dimension nodes that follow a building in the layout tabs.  I would like elevations that show up in model or plan drawings.  It is easy to place coordinates all over a drawing but I have never figured out how to place elevation coordinates in plan view that are attached to the structure.

I started with machine drawings in 1973.  I used ACAD in 1993 for the first time.  I started drawing buildings.

I shortly learned that ACAD was the greatest thing that could happen for high production draftsmen.  I will write a few things to show that I take this very serious.  I have made a living working with CAD products since '93.

I started drawing with Revit around 2012.  I hated it.  I still hate it.  Not that it isn't easy and fast to draw the structure of a building, it just doesn't even come close to the production values of ACAD.  At nearly 60 years old I draw 3 to 5 jobs for every one job the rest of the company is putting out.  I spend a few days throwing together a Revit concrete structure for the young guys and go back to ACAD to do my work.

ACAD still allows total control of the drawing and I am aware that Revit corrects everything at one time.... but...  It is incredibly slow.