Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for help regarding dxf files..

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
rahrdesign
262 Views, 4 Replies

Looking for help regarding dxf files..

First of all, I am not a civil engineer. I am a production artist with over 10 years experience. 

We are creating a digital elevation map with slope arrows, from a cloud point. My current workflow includes CloudCompare to filter out non-ground data and mask the area I will be creating a DEM. I am liking the contours created by CloudCompare and would like to use them to set my major contours in Civil3d. The only file types that play nice between these two apps are .e57 and .dxf. 

My issues comes when opening a dxf file in civil3d. The scale is completely off, creating a drawing the size of stamp. Can anyone offer any help?

If using cloud compare to create contours is not a viable option, what would be best to create cleaner contours in civil3d?

Labels (3)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Pointdump
in reply to: rahrdesign

Hi Ryan,
Do you have ReCap? That would make a better workflow into Civil 3D. Also, if your point cloud is classified you can use the free DotSoft >>>LiDAR Tools<<< to bypass the ReCap step.
Can you post your point cloud and the resulting DXF file? (You might need to zip them up to attach.)
Dave

Dave Stoll
Las Vegas, Nevada

EESignature

64GB DDR4 2400MHz ECC SoDIMM / 1TB SSD
NVIDIA Quadro P5000 16GB
Windows 10 Pro 64 / Civil 3D 2024
Message 3 of 5
rahrdesign
in reply to: Pointdump

Thanks for the fast reply, Dave!

CloudCompare can thankfully export an .e57 file, however when it is opened in Civil3d the contour lines have disappeared. This is how I began my .DXF journey. Thank you so much for your help and I am completely open to any tips or tricks I may be missing out on. 

Message 4 of 5