Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bing Map Scale

22 REPLIES 22
Message 1 of 23
RONNIEJ
1852 Views, 22 Replies

Bing Map Scale

Hi,

I am new to using maps with AutoCAD and newish to Civil 3D. Was an LT user for years. I am attempting to use Geo Location on Civil 3D to get a map into my drawing. I am having difficulty getting it to scale correctly. I am not sure if this is due to my coordinate system or what. I have read some forums and watched some video but I am obviously missing something.

I am attaching a pretty blank DWG with some sample coordinates. They were surveyed in NAD83 CSRS UTM Zone 13N  Near Outlook Saskatchewan in Canada

Maybe someone can make it work and write down the steps they took.

Thank You in advance

22 REPLIES 22
Message 2 of 23
RONNIEJ
in reply to: RONNIEJ

I should add... When it prompts for an address I am not sure what to put to get it to start in the right place. cadaddress.PNG

Message 3 of 23
jmartt

Why do you think the scale is wrong? This is what I see when I open your drawing:

Capture.PNG

The measurement I got for that line matched the dimension indicated. But I didn't know how wide the S. Saskatchewan River was, so I Googled it and Google told me that there's a bridge near St. Louis, Saskatchewan, that is 300 meters long. So I zoomed up to it and measured it:

Capture.PNG

Looks good to me.

Message 4 of 23
RONNIEJ
in reply to: jmartt

When I see what you posted it looks very correct. When you opened my DWG I assume there was no map there? 

I cannot get it to open the map in the correct place like you did. Do you mind telling me the steps you took to place that map? I assume I am overlooking something very simple and maybe its just one of those days lol. 

Your example with my line and measurements looks perfect

Message 5 of 23
jmartt