Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

32 feet Fire Truck Turning Width and Radius

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
thutzl136
3195 Views, 8 Replies

32 feet Fire Truck Turning Width and Radius

I am a farmer with neighbors that seem to want to narrow the opening of my easement to a public roadway. My main concern is can my local Fire Company get their Fire Trucks to my facilities in case of an emergency. The local Fire Company has trucks that are 30 and 32 feet in length. Would anyone be able to tell me how wide of an opening, at the intersections of a 33 feet road and a 16 feet road, would need to be, in order to accommodate these two truck lengths?  

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
tcorey
in reply to: thutzl136

There are many other details that go into this, besides just length. You need to know wheel base, speed, width, time to run from steering stop on left to steering stop on right. Do you know the make and model of the fire trucks the department uses? That will help.

Your local civil engineer can run this analysis for you using Autodesk Vehicle Tracking software. They will need a layout of the main road as well as your driveway/entrance road. That's likely easy to get from within AutoCAD Civil 3D using the Geolocation tools.

Tim Corey
MicroCAD Training and Consulting, Inc.
Redding, CA
Autodesk Gold Reseller

New knowledge is the most valuable commodity on earth. -- Kurt Vonnegut
Message 3 of 9
Joe-Bouza

I concur with Tim.

Additionally, the onus should be on your neighbor. A town permit is typically required to make alterations to curb/openings to public ROW. Your Fire Marshal will have a lot to say about that.

I would recommend you speak with town hall and the fire marshal regarding the intent and your concern
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People)