Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Viscous Drag Force around a Floating Body

14 REPLIES 14
Message 1 of 15
valbooxd
937 Views, 14 Replies

Viscous Drag Force around a Floating Body

Hi,

I am new to Autodesk CFD and currently starting my Final Year Project in University. I am hoping someone could advice me if Autodesk CFD is able to calculate the viscous drag found around a floating cylinder and how i should go about doing it.

Thanks so much in advance!

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
Amal.C
in reply to: valbooxd

Hi, 

Welcome to Autodesk Community 🙂 

CFD is able to compute the drag force. 

please check this out. 

please let me know if you have further questions. 

thanks, 

Amal

Amal Cheikh rouhou
Message 3 of 15
valbooxd
in reply to: Amal.C

Hi Amal, 

Just to double confirm, the solution attached is for the calculation of drag coefficient on vehicles in air, however in my case i would like to analyse the drag of a floating body in water. Would the steps be the same?

Thank you so much!

Message 4 of 15
Jon.Wilde

Hey,

Sort of... although I guess you will have a portion of this in water and a portion in air?

Are you looking to essentially run a free surface analysis looking at what happens when the water reaches the body?

Note that we would only be considering the forces from the water here - the air would not be considered in a free surface analysis.

Might you be able to run this as a 2D analysis? 

Thanks,

Jon

Message 5 of 15
valbooxd
in reply to: Jon.Wilde

Hi Jon,