Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple Convective Heat Transfer in Pipe

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
451 Views, 8 Replies

Simple Convective Heat Transfer in Pipe

Hello,

I am looking to use CFD to help me with some modeling work of a more complex heat exchanger.  I wanted to start off with some basic conduction and convection analyses before I moved to the complex work.  I am having a few problems with my convection analysis.  I am new to this, so it could be a very simple fix that I have overlooked, but I have searched through the forums and have checked my work and have found no solution.

I imported a .step file of a cylinder with a diameter of 2 in and a length of 40 in.  I assigned to this a material property of water.  For the inlet surface, I have a boundary condition of 15 lbm/h mass flow rate and a temperature of 60 F.  For the outlet surface I have the pressure as 0 psi.  I have assigned a boundary condition to the two surfaces of the cylinder of 100 F.  I have set the flow to laminar, adusted the mesh a few times, turned on ADV 5, flag "resid_bdry_force_calc", and I am running in steady state till convergence. 

My first question is why the "Avg. Temperature" on the outlet surface given by the wall calculator does not equal the "Outlet Bulk Temperature" given by the Sum file?

My second question is why the "Reynolds Number" given by the sum file does not change significantly from the inlet to the outlet despite the fact that the temperature increases from 15.556 C to 32.6809 C (with negligible velocity change)?  With a temperature change like that, there should be a change in the viscosity, thus a more significant change in the Re than from 42.74 to 43.07 right?