Autodesk Technology Managers Forum
Share your knowledge, ask questions, and engage with fellow CAD/BIM Managers.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

freelance charge Time and Rate

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
rfierro
13602 Views, 9 Replies

freelance charge Time and Rate

Hi Everyone,

I am part time CAD Operator for an Electrical Contractor. A project estimator about 80% of the time, CAD Operator about 20%. But ive been drafting for about 8 years. So operating the program isnt an issue. 

Im looking to start doing a little freelance drafting on the side. But i having a hard time nailing down a solid rate to charge potential customers.  I feel the $50 -$60/hr is reasonable. But how do you determine the time allotted per project? Do you give you best estimation drawing from your experience or is there some sort of formula (i.e. details/difficulty per sheet, 2D vs. 3D, etc). I just need some sort of guideline. i dont want to sell myself short, but more importantly dont want to price myself out or over charge clients. I'd like good relationships to be the back bone the business. 

Any Information you may have on this would greatly appreciated. 

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
inou
in reply to: rfierro

If you're not sure then better first price the whole job as fixed lump sum instead of keepig it open. This will give you more flexibility.

Message 3 of 10
rfierro
in reply to: inou

Thank you. Thats what i was thinking i should do to start.  Is there a typical scale per page? or will it simply vary per job and difficulty?

Message 4 of 10
RobDraw

When I did side work, I had a sliding scale based on difficulty and time frame. If I was provided complete mark-ups, was just putting exactly what was on those mark-ups onto the drawings, and had plenty of time to finish, I charged my base rate. The more I had to fill in blanks and the more condensed the schedule, the more I charged.

Rob