Community
Bifrost Forum
Welcome to the Bifrost Forum. This is the place for artists using Bifrost to ask and answer questions, browse popular topics, and share knowledge about creating effects procedurally using Bifrost. You can also visit the Bifrost Community on AREA to download an array of ready-to-use graphs, read Bifrost news and updates, and find the latest tutorials.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Square smoke

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
A01653369
546 Views, 5 Replies

Square smoke

Hello, I'm new to bifrost. I created a smoke graph and every time I try to render, I get square smoke? It's like if I was on minecraft or something. I don't know if one of my settings is off or what's happening. I'm trying to render with Arnold. Can't find anything in any forums, please help. My student life depends on it.

Screenshot_6.jpgScreenshot_5.jpgScreenshot_4.jpgScreenshot_7.jpg

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
mspeer
in reply to: A01653369

Hi!

You have in source_air:

Fog Density Mode (set to "set").

This is a very simple creation method which instantly sets all affected voxels to this value, this will look like Minecraft, at least at the first frame.

Possible solutions:

1) Lower the Fog Density

2) Play back the simulation and render an other frame.

3) Use a higher resolution (lower Detail Size)

4) Use an other "Fog Density Mode"

Message 3 of 6
A01653369
in reply to: mspeer

Hi!
Thank you for your answer, I did seem to manage to make it so the smoke is not square anymore. I did playback the simulation to another frame but it was still squared. I tried lowering the density and it helped a bit, on the other side, changed the fog density mode to add, and changed the resolution mode and that seems to have worked fine.