Community
Bifrost Forum
Welcome to the Bifrost Forum. This is the place for artists using Bifrost to ask and answer questions, browse popular topics, and share knowledge about creating effects procedurally using Bifrost. You can also visit the Bifrost Community on AREA to download an array of ready-to-use graphs, read Bifrost news and updates, and find the latest tutorials.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Procedural house generator with Bifrost?

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
juapes
1451 Views, 6 Replies

Procedural house generator with Bifrost?

Hi there! I’m new to Bifrost graph and programming whatsoever I mainly work as a generalist and modeler but that’s why I started learning the tool. 

I saw this video from a Houdini tool to create procedural houses with custom models and I was wondering if a tool like this could be developed with Bifrost Graph: 

https://youtu.be/gmYvA05orbs 

I thought was posible thinking it could be just creating an invisible mesh that could be randomized and use vertex positions to instance walls, floors and roofs that could be switch depending on the look you’d need.

Though as I’m not a programmer nor have any experience with Bifrost graph I couldn’t figure out how to create that base mesh to start with haha, or how to get the correct orientation for each floor, roof or wall. I’m thinking would need to use the Point information from that invisible mesh but set up to query for specific angles or normals. 

Anyways, do you have any idea if this could be done inside Maya? If so how you’d approach this? Please be aware I might not get it right away as mi background is more artistic than technical but I’d really love to have a tool like that and also to learn Bifrost. Maybe I’m asking for much since it’s a topic more like for a tutorial but would be something I’d dig.