AutoCAD Map 3D Developer
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Developer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D Developer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Custom Object Data Palette

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
CNinBC
1401 Views, 4 Replies

Custom Object Data Palette

I am working on a project to create a custom Object Data Palette in Civil 3D. the goal is to set up a palette for CAD user enter/copy/modify/audit the object data attached to the CAD entities. As of today, I managed to create a custom palette in Civil 3D, and added a few buttons and a grid for the data field. next, i will be trying to link the object data table function to the palette. I am new to C# programming, here is the list of the challenges I am facing, I would like to get some advice from the community. thanks in advance for any suggestion/advise/tips.

1. what is the best way to bring in the object data table into the dwg file (assuming the tables are not predefined in the drawing), I was going to use individual csv file to save each table, each csv file contains all data fields, and its possible value presets, but this method brings up another challenge for me - how to access external files.

2. how to access the object data in selected object(s) and show it on my palette, currently, I am using Grid component, is it correct object to be used for this purpose

3. is it possible to add a pull-down select box in the data entry field to allow pre-defined data value, for example, on the BASE table we have a data field called "SERVICE_STATUS", we have pre-defined data value "I" for "In Service", "NETN" for "New Acquisition", "REPL" for "Replacement", etc.

that's it for now. may come up more along the way.

attached below are the screenshot of my custom palette I made so far and a sample object data table (we have about 15+- tables, each table contains 15+- data fields)