Community
AutoCAD LT Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD LT Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD LT topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Join doesn't work but pedit Join does

16 REPLIES 16
SOLVED
Message 1 of 17
Anonymous
1310 Views, 16 Replies

Join doesn't work but pedit Join does

Hi.

I am new to AutoCad and I don't understand why my polylines won't join.

Their ends are definitely touching in the same place and the Join command doesn't work. This is the first time it doesn't work for me. So I looked around the forum a bit and found the pedit command. Using the pedit join works and I don't understand why join in itself doesn't work. 

Thanks,

Nico 

Labels (3)
16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
steven-g
in reply to: Anonymous

Normally when a command fails you get an error message at the command line? What was it, do you have the command line visible (or F2)?

Message 3 of 17
Anonymous
in reply to: steven-g

Command: J
JOIN 2 found
0 objects joined, 1 object discarded from the operation

Thanks for the quick reply,

Message 4 of 17
steven-g

Can you post the dwg with just those 2 objects is all we need.

Message 5 of 17
Anonymous

Here you go.

Message 6 of 17
steven-g

Odd indeed. Join does work if you either select only one line to start with (and the second when prompted).

Message 7 of 17
Anonymous

Ok, very interesting. Thanks, that will help. This is probably a bug with autocad itself right?

Message 8 of 17
steven-g

@Anonymous wrote:

This is probably a bug with autocad itself right?

I doubt it, but you never know, if I create two new polylines tracing over yours then those behave? but I can't see in the properties any difference.

Message 9 of 17
steven-g

Your geometry is a long way from the origin 0,0 which can cause some problems.

Message 10 of 17
steven-g