Two Polylines Won't Join?

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
Anonymous
90845 Views, 13 Replies

Two Polylines Won't Join?

Hi! I'm new to AutoCAD.

I'm trying to join the two polylines that I have visible in the attached file, but for some reason they just won't. I've tried PEDIT and MPEDIT. I assume this means that they're not quite touching but I can't find the issue. It looks like the shorter one has a line segment on the left end that is causing a problem but I don't know what.

Please help!

Thank you!

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
steve216586
in reply to: Anonymous

Most likely one or both have a Z value, or Z values which aren't equal. Try FLATTEN. If that doesn't work, I often EXPLODE the plines, FLATTEN and JOIN successfully. 

"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent. "-Eleanor Roosevelt
Message 3 of 14
Patchy

Explode the short one, you have 2 segments at the end.

Message 4 of 14
Kent1Cooper

The upper-rightward one doubles back on itself -- the place where you want to Join it to the other one is an intermediate vertex, not the end.  In PEDIT, select Edit Vertex, hit Enter to see the X marker move around.  PEDIT / <select upper-rightward Pline> / Edit vertex / Break / Next / Go / eXit / Join / <select other Pline> <Enter> <Enter>

Kent Cooper, AIA
Message 5 of 14
HullDrafter

I couldn't get them to join using Pedit either.

However, if you use "Fillet" with a Radius of Zero (0), it does work.

An AuotLISP routine that I got from Dan Abbott's Book "AutoCAD, secrets every usaer should know" helped me to short cut the fillet with zero radius down to two letters "FZ"

(defun c:fz () ;begin fillet zero
  (setq old_radius (getvar "filletrad"))
  (setvar "filletrad" 0)
  (command ".fillet" pause pause)
  (setvar "filletrad" old_radius)
)

Hope this helps.

HD

Message 6 of 14
Anonymous

Thank you everyone! Exploding and deleting the extra line segment worked great.

Message 7 of 14
Patchy
in reply to: Kent1Cooper