Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mass Element in Vanilla AutoCAD?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
ergoarchitecture
674 Views, 9 Replies

Mass Element in Vanilla AutoCAD?

We are using vanilla AutoCAD, not AutoCAD Architecture, to model structures to render in Lumion.  We need to create "Mass Elements" to mark object locations (don't ask...) but these seem to exist only in AutoCAD Architecture.  I am wondering if this element type even exists in the AutoCAD database?

If so, is there an Express tool or something that would allow us to create them?  Or could we convert another element to a Mass Element?  Or write a LISP routine to do this conversion?

Any hints or help with this would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Tags (2)
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
cadffm
in reply to: ergoarchitecture

I am not a pro in architecture, but "mass element" should be a simple 3dsolid object, or?
Try command BOX for example..
Change workspace to 3D.. and you will see more basic shapes and boole edit options.

Sorry if i am wrong with it.

Sebastian

EESignature

Message 3 of 10
ergoarchitecture
in reply to: cadffm

Thanks for the quick response! I believe a Mass Element is an entity type in AutoCAD architecture, and we have been unable to produce them in plain old AutoCAD. The BOX command, EXTRUDE, and other methods of creating volumes all seem to produce “3D SOLID” entity types in AutoCAD. Lumion does not recognize 3D SOLIDs, just MASS ELEMENTS, but we can’t seem to produce them.
Message 4 of 10

Can you import a Mass Element from a file that was created with AutoCAD Architecture then copy it in plain AutoCAD as needed?

lee.minardi
Message 5 of 10

That is a possibility too, but of course we don't have AutoCAD Architecture so I can't make one to test with.  Perhaps someone on the forum with AutoCAD Architecture could post one and I could test to see if it remains a mass element when I insert it?

Thanks!

Message 6 of 10

Hi @ergoarchitecture,