Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to change spacing of points along a line?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
1591 Views, 5 Replies

How to change spacing of points along a line?

First, I've never used Autocad before and don't know what I'm doing. I have an assignment to modify a design that includes some rows of points. I need to change the spacing from 6ft to 4ft, but keep the length the same, though I may need to edit the shape of the lines of points some too. How can I do that?

Thanks,

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
pendean
in reply to: Anonymous

Does the person that tasked you know this? is this a test? Are they expecting you to do it all alone without asking them? I'm just curious about it.

Post your DWG file, let's all look at what you are looking at.
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: pendean

They're arrays of wellpoints for a construction dewatering. No one in the office knows how to edit a DWG, so I've been asked to try to figure it out. The boss will find someone to do it I think. I've about given up. I'm pretty good with GIS, so not unreasonable to think maybe I could figure it out but it's not going well. 

I tried to learn how to make a line and how to put points on it. I think I got a spline to connect one row of wells, and thought maybe I can delete the existing points and make new ones with the new spacing, but I can't make that happen.  All the advice I found for that starts with: 

1. Select settings and create styles, layers, point groups, and description keys.  

I have no idea what that means.

Step two is:

2. Home tab Create Ground Data panel Points menu Create Points - Miscellaneous Divide Object .

I can't find any "create ground data" panel, or any menus down the chain.