Did you mean: 

Create Rectangular Tube in 3D from 2D Surfaces

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
arlindUHQ5W
171 Views, 7 Replies

Create Rectangular Tube in 3D from 2D Surfaces

Hi everyone,

I'm new to AutoCAD and need some help with creating a 2D/3D model of a square tube with dimensions 60mm x 60mm and a length of 1000mm.

Specifically, I want to be able to draw on all four surfaces of the tube . My idea was to draw a 60mm x 60mm rectangle, extrude it to 1000mm, and then add lines or sketches to the surfaces

Is there any better aproach like a  way to draw all the surfaces in 2D first and then combine/add them into the 3D model,?

autocad.png

Additionally, if I have a 60mm diameter pipe (length 1000mm), I want to create a 2D rectangle (188.4mm x 1000mm, using the formula 60mm * π) and then convert it into a 3D pipe afterward.

autocad2.png

Labels (4)
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
changmarin
in reply to: arlindUHQ5W

Hi,

The only work around I´ve found is to model the surfaces with PLANESURF and unite them with SURFSCULPT.

Set SURFV and SURFU to 0 first in order to avoid mesh display.

Ch.-
Message 3 of 8
j.palmeL29YX

- Draw your tube as 3DSolid. 

- Set UCSDETECT to 1. 

- If you now start to draw any object (line, pline, circle, ellipse, text, ... whatever you want) and hover your cursor over any of the 6 surfaces of the solid, the XY-plane of the UCS will be automatically aligned to this face. 

Jürgen Palme
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 4 of 8
j.palmeL29YX

@arlindUHQ5W wrote:

I have a 60mm diameter pipe (length 1000mm), I want to create a 2D rectangle (188.4mm x 1000mm, using the formula 60mm * π) and then convert it into a 3D pipe afterward.

I don't understand what you want to do or to achieve.