Did you mean: 

AutoCAD 2018 - Cannot draw a rectangle using Dynamic Input

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
katie1994
6475 Views, 12 Replies

AutoCAD 2018 - Cannot draw a rectangle using Dynamic Input

Yesterday I was able to draw a rectangle by entering in a dimension, hitting TAB, then entering the second dimension. Today Dynamic Input was off and I can no longer use this method. I finally figured out how to turn on the Dynamic Input but still cannot draw a rectangle. I decided to go old school and enter the dimensions as 15,15 and it worked. 

any ideas on what I did to disable this function? I am using the student version of Autocad 2018. (FYI I have been using Autocad for 20 years.)

[ The subject line of this post has been edited to include the product name by @handjonathan ]

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
pendean
in reply to: katie1994

what other method is there to draw 15,15 rectangle?
Or do you need to correctly type @Anonymous,15?
Or did you forget to set units to ARCHITECTURAL so you can type @1'3,1'3 instead?

Message 3 of 13
katie1994
in reply to: pendean

Like I said in my post, I have been accustomed to selecting the rectangle tool, enter the X length, hit TAB key, enter the Y length. The Dynamic Input shows as a box beside the cursor, the dimension is shown in the box. When you hit TAB a little lock shows in the first box, a second box opens where you enter the second dimension. This is  no longer happening. I am using a drawing I have been working on for several weeks and no changes have been made to the units.

Message 4 of 13
beyoungjr

Something surely has "flaked out" on you if the Dynamic Input data fields are not appearing or functioning correctly.