Did you mean: 

Autocad slow to load

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
11040 Views, 6 Replies

Autocad slow to load

Hello. I am a computer technician who has a client that uses AutoCAD 2016. He has complained for some time about AutoCAD opening very slowly. 3 years ago we got him a new PC with a Core i7 CPU, an SSD, 8G memory and a Quadro video card.  AutoCAD runs great when it starts.  All other apps run very quickly, but AutoCAD takes about 60 seconds to open.

Now, please understand I am not familiar with AutoCAD. I have researched and found people saying that they made it start faster by disabling hyperthreading. Others said it could be broken links or startup items that are missing. While I can disable hyperthreading from the BIOS, I am clueless as to how to diagnose missing startup items.  I would really appreciate help diagnosing this for my client. Remember, I know nothing about AutoCAD, so when you say to go to the wonky tab to deselect the jibberty startup items, specify how I get to the wonky tab and how to deselect the jibberty items. 😄

If you have any other ideas on how to speed up the startup, please let me know. Thank you.

Corey

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Alfred.NESWADBA
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

to identify if AutoCAD has some broken links you can do a simple test:

Create a new Windows user on that system, give that user admin permission, login with that account, disconnect the system from network, turn off antivirus and now start AutoCAD in that context ... fast or slow?

As the workstation is running already 3 years now ... was there an update to Windows 10 installed in the meantime?

- alfred -

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS ... www.hollaus.at ... blog.hollaus.at ... CDay 2024
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(not an Autodesk consultant)
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous

@Anonymous wrote: