AutoCAD for Mac Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD for Mac Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD for Mac topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating a Solid or surface from a mathematically generated curved line

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
448 Views, 4 Replies

Creating a Solid or surface from a mathematically generated curved line

Hi all.

Apologies first of all, as I am a total noob to CAD software. 

My issue is that I am trying to get to the point where I can 3D print a few acoustic horns so I can explore the frequency cutoff of each one for my degree (I'm a Sound Engineering student).

I have a specific curve thats been generated mathematically (Base Curve.dwg). From here I have tried several ways to revolve the curve around the central axis, and have finally landed here (Revolved Curve.dwg). This is exactly how I want the horn to look when I print (Ideally I'd like to model it to look like a gramophone horn, but that is not necessary at this point) So, I try to export the horn to STL format, but get the error "Selected Objects must be solids or watertight meshes". Which makes sense still. So I have tried a number of ways to convert to solid, or surfaces (I'm not sure the difference, but I'd have thought that I don't want the horn to be a solid as I'd loose the internal cavity, wouldn't I?)

Anyways, when I try to convert to either, I am told "Can not convert an open curve" when using the 'Convert to Solid' option in 3D Operations menu, and simply 'Objects can not be converted' when I try to convert to a surface, from the same menu. This is where I fall over. I can't for the life of me work out how to convert to a solid or surface in order to export to STL.