AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What advantage does the AutoCAD electrical offers

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
AdepateWaliu
2675 Views, 4 Replies

What advantage does the AutoCAD electrical offers

Hello everyone. I am a student of electrical engineering. I'm used to using the ordinary AutoCAD for my works. Please I want to know the advantages the AutoCAD electrical has over the ordinary AutoCAD software.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
jalger
in reply to: AdepateWaliu

Hi Adepatewaliu,

There are many advantages to using AutoCAD Electrical vs Regular AutoCAD, but it depends on how you plan to use the software.

If you are making Electrical Scematics, one line diagrams, and Panel layouts then AutoCAD Electrical is the best way to go.

If you are making circuit boards well its not the best but if you only doing one or two layer CB's it might be ok, if its a 50 layer CB with crossing paths and links all over for multiple transistors...probably not the best. 

If you doing housing Electrical work ( or commerical buildings) Then MEP and evit would be a better choice..but I'll leave that one for now.

lets take a look at some advantages:

• Icon menu with inteligent blocks (JIC/NFPA , IEEE, IEC standard sysmbols are already in the product)
  • limited peer libraries are included (Pnuematic, Hydraulic, and P&ID) 
  • Large catalog of components (2 million enteries the help define a bill of material later)
  • Naming scheme customization (for auto naming components or wires)
  • Bill of material and other report generation
  • Title block management tools
  • Ability to add new enteries for missing components ( 2 million is alot but they don't have every manufacturer)
  • Make Custom symbols then add them to the Icon menu for easy access