AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ways to use Terminal Blocks ...

19 REPLIES 19
Message 1 of 20
clyons
6764 Views, 19 Replies

Ways to use Terminal Blocks ...

Using ACADE 2014 (new user).  I'd like to be able to show the physical connection points to terminal blocks directly on my schematic.  As I stated, I'm new to ACADE 2014 and very new to Terminal Strip Editor (TSE).  We use primarily single level WAGO terminal blocks like this:

Snap_216 Jul. 13 10.38.jpg

We reference the physical wire connection points starting at 1 at the top of block (at the right if mounted horizontally).  So, for block 1, the top connection is referenced as 1.1 and the bottom connection as 1.2.  Sometimes we use triple or quad blocks and the numbering works the same (1-3, 1-4, from top-bottom (right-left)). 

So, on a schmatic I'd lke to see something like this:

Snap_215 Jul. 13 10.25.jpg

So this says that wire 219 goes from connection 2 on F5 to terminal strip TB02 : terminal block 3 (wiring position 1 [3.1]) and comes out on terminal block 3 (wiring position 2 [3.2]) which has a connection to CBL20 conductor 3.  This provides all the information needed for the panel builder directly on the schematic. 

Diagrammatically this seems to work fine but when I try to generate the terminal strip layout, I have some problems.  First, ACADE doesn't know about my naming convention, so it thinks 3.1 and 3.2 are 2 separate terminal blocks. 

To my specific questions:

1) Is there a better (more standard) way to represent the terminal block connection information that I want on the schematic that won't cause ACADE problems and that will save me time?

2) I'm just learning TSE, so maybe there's a way within TSE to combine 3.1 & 3.2 into a single block.  Is that possible?