Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adoption rate of latest release?

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
RGrandmaison
194 Views, 2 Replies

Adoption rate of latest release?

Some industries seem to move more quickly than others to incorporate the latest Autodesk release into their practice. I've been using AutoCAD for more than 30 years and have been a CAD manager at a structural engineering firm for most of that time, as well as a licensed architect- working for several architectural firms. The firms I've worked for in the AEC (emphasis on the A/E) arena were usually very aggressive about upgrading. Subscriptions made that even easier.

From what I'm hearing from my current colleagues, at least in this local area, the Civil Engineering firms are slow to adopt the latest release. While 2017 has been available for a while, many are still running on much older versions of Civil 3D. Is this typical throughout the industry? Or, is it that just a few "key players" in an area can really drive the adoption of software locally? I'm wondering if it's also something to do with the hardware-software linkage between the two. Civil Engineers are really tied into very expensive hardware that may, or may not, be tied to firmware/software upgrade cycles that relate to the Autodesk release cycle. So, the cost to do regular upgrades may be heavier for those firms do to incompatibility issues with legacy hardware playing well with Autodesk software. So, is it a cost issue? I lived through AutoCAD r13 and remember it well, so I understand the "let's wait for the SP1...or SP2" mentality. But, I'm very curious as to what drives the adoption rate of, in particular C3D, in other geographical areas.

So, I guess my questions are:

What part of the country/world are you in?