Community
ArtCAM Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s ArtCAM Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular ArtCAM topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

4th axis work with Artcam

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
kevinGCFLE
2360 Views, 5 Replies

4th axis work with Artcam

Hello. My name is Kevin and I am new to Autodesk and Artcam. I have a perspective client who has a 4th axis that attaches to his CNC machine but hasn't had time to learn to use it. He uses Artcam for his cam software. I would like to know if I can use it for this purpose and where I can find a tutorial or documentation on how to do this? I have experience with the cad part, just need some guidance in the tooling part. Thanks.
Tags (1)
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
dillon.moulder
in reply to: kevinGCFLE

Hi @kevinGCFLE,

Welcome to the Autodesk Community and the ArtCAM Forum.

@kevinGCFLE wrote:
I am new to Autodesk and Artcam. I have a perspective client who has a 4th axis that attaches to his CNC machine but hasn't had time to learn to use it. He uses Artcam for his cam software. I would like to know if I can use it for this purpose and where I can find a tutorial or documentation on how to do this? I have experience with the cad part, just need some guidance in the tooling part.

What version and build of ArtCAM is your prospective client working in? To confirm this, please ask them to select the Help > About Autodesk ArtCAM menu option in their ArtCAM software. For example, Autodesk ArtCAM Premium 2018 (Version: 2018.1.2 Build: 2017-10-26-1346-379e47cbe).

Autodesk ArtCAM Premium supports rotary machining. However, at this moment in time, toolpaths are 3-axis; they do not utilise a fourth axis. You can compare the different products in the Autodesk ArtCAM range here.

Thanks in advance for your time and cooperation.

Kind regards,

Message 3 of 6
surecue
in reply to: dillon.moulder

Hi,