Community
Fusion API and Scripts
Got a new add-in to share? Need something specialized to be scripted? Ask questions or share what you’ve discovered with the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't get my script to run! No dialog box -_-

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Six1Seven1
399 Views, 5 Replies

Can't get my script to run! No dialog box -_-

Hi all,

Let me begin by saying I am new to coding with Python (about 3 weeks experience), but am quickly learning how to navigate through the API and execute some tasks. I have been following these videos:   click here and learning fast.

BUT I have run into a problem. I am trying to create a little dialogue box within fusion when my script runs. I have defined an event and a handler and all that and still nothing comes up. Here is a breakdown of my code...

1. Random extrusions at start up are created

2. Created a command definition for a button and placed that button inside the toolbar

3. Created an event and handler for the button

4. Created command inputs (selection inputs and then a dropdown)

4. When i click the button in the toolbar.... nothing happens Smiley Mad

I am looking to create a dialogue box which I can then link to  drawing functions. But I can't even get as far as creating a dialogue.

Any help is appreciated.

CODE:

#Author-
#Description-

import adsk.core, adsk.fusion, adsk.cam, traceback

def run(context):

try:

app = adsk.core.Application.get()
        ui = app.userInterface

doc = app.documents.add(adsk.core.DocumentTypes.FusionDesignDocumentType)

design = app.activeProduct

handlers = []
        # Get the root component of the active design.
        rootComp = design.rootComponent

# Create a new sketch on the xy plane.
        sketches = rootComp.sketches
        xyPlane = rootComp.xYConstructionPlane
        sketch1 = sketches.add(xyPlane)