Community
Alias Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Alias Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Alias topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Save as/export to stp not working

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
donest
1032 Views, 7 Replies

Save as/export to stp not working

I usually save files in both an Alias wire file, and also in an iges format. When I try to "save as" an stp file, the hourglass works briefly, and I think it has saved the file, but it is not there. I even created a folder for this purpose nad navigated to it to save the file. When I use windows explorer to view the folder it says that the folder is empty. I have checked first the wire directory but not there either. I've never used step files before. I even tried exporting with same result.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
donest
in reply to: donest

Sorry, I should have said I'm using Alias Surface 2019

Message 3 of 8
rauscht

Hi,

sorry to hear that you are facing problem while saving your data to STEP file format.

Being remote to your computer environment makes it pretty hard to tell, what is going wrong at your end. To narrow down possible reason for the behavior you are seeing, allow me to ask a few questions.

1. For how long have you been waiting before checking the output folder if the step file is there?
  2. Is the STEP file not there at all, or is it that the file is there but shows zero size?
  3. Does it happen for any model, or is the behavior specific to a certain data file?
  4. Are you allowed to share the trouble-some wire file (in case your problem is bound to a specific file)?
  5. I assume the STEP export is working for rather small wire file (like only a cube contained). Is that correct?
  6. How about other target file formats (like IGES, NX etc.) for the same source wire file? Are these working  as expected?