Community
Alias Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Alias Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Alias topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building issues, advice needed

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
adloram
998 Views, 13 Replies

Building issues, advice needed

I can't seem to be able to do anything I put my mind to when dealing with Alias.

I'm a beginner, but for the first time in some I felt like I got a bit of Alias finally right and decided to build two models that I had in mind for a while.

However, no matter the effort, the different ways and build strategies, I always get to a point where it seems to me that it should be something that alias should be able to deal with very easily, but instead hangs had and can't seem able to give me the surface quality I'm searching.

Since this has happened before in other cad software, is there something wrong in how I build my models?

Maybe it's some finesse, maybe it's the complete building strategy that's wrong, but it seems to me I'm not doing anything space-rockety. I just don't know what to do at this point, went through all the beautiful foundation tutorials and then some on youtube.

Thank you for your advice.

(in the second image, there are two deformations in the surface, visible when switching to zebra analysis)

1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
adloram
in reply to: adloram

Ehmm, is this an active forum?

Message 3 of 14
duaxiong

@adloram wrote:

Ehmm, is this an active forum?

Sometimes...

There is no easy way to answer the questions you have, especially without the data.  Yes, the surfaces appear fairly simple, but to get to an acceptable solution requires fairly deep knowledge.

My advice:

2b.jpg

A

Whenever possible, it is better to use a natural boundaries instead of a Trimmed Edge.  In this case, you would do better to Rotate the Sphere 90 degrees in the Z axis and Detach it where you want to cut it.