Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bodies moving through each other in static stress analysis

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
sbhardwaj.amu
492 Views, 6 Replies

Bodies moving through each other in static stress analysis

Hello everyone,

I am quite new to Autodesk Simulation. I am using Autodesk Simulation Mechanical 2014. While I was doing a linear static stress analysis for an assembly, I saw an assembly part moving through another part when increasing the displacement (displacement option from result bar). I have kept the contact between these two parts as 'surface contact', so logically they should never cross each other. But parts happen to cross each other. Please help me with this problem and any mistake that I might be committing. Is this also taking my simulation result far away from reality?

I have attached the pictures depicting the situation that I am facing. First Image is showing my assembly and second image is what I get after after doing the stress analysis.

assembly.jpg

after stress analysis.jpg

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7

Hi,

Firstly, in Linear Static Stress, the computation is only performed at one instance of time. Hence, if two surfaces are not contacting each other in the original CAD geometry, then they will not contact each other and may pass through one another in the results, even though you set the contact type to surface contact between the parts. If you want to analyse the contact between parts, I suggest you perform a MES analysis, which will update the geometry as the analysis progresses through time.