Discussion Groups

Robot Structural Analysis

Reply
Valued Contributor
bjornhgr
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎09-28-2011
Accepted Solution

Error in unilateral linear release

242 Views, 4 Replies
12-04-2012 02:10 AM

Hi.

 

I have a small test model as shown in the picture that I can't seem to get to work properly. When activating a load in the positive z-direction I expect the wall to separate from the slab due to the linear release definition that SHOULD release UY+ (local) displacement. This works well if I use the linear tab (release both UY+ and UY-), but not when I use the unilateral tab. Can anyone explain where I've gone wrong? (Model attached)

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Posts: 4,454
Registered: ‎04-26-2010

Re: Error in unilateral linear release

12-04-2012 02:24 AM in reply to: bjornhgr

Am I missing something?

My results:

 

uyplus.jpg



Rafal Gaweda
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
bjornhgr
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎09-28-2011

Re: Error in unilateral linear release

12-04-2012 03:11 AM in reply to: bjornhgr

Really? Seems I'm the one missing something here. My results:

2012-12-04_121036.png

Are there other, "more correct", ways of showing displacements for panels? Or could I have some settings all wrong? To me it seesms our results should be identical? I'm using Robot 2012, but I suppose (and hope) the results are the same in 2013?! I'll try that, just to have done it.

 

The reason I made this test model was that I got similar results in a larger model I'm working on. That was on another computer, so I can't really see that my computer (or my settings) sholud be the problem...

 

-Bjørn

Please use plain text.
Product Support
Artur.Kosakowski
Posts: 4,297
Registered: ‎12-17-2010

Re: Error in unilateral linear release

12-04-2012 03:52 AM in reply to: bjornhgr

Pressing ESC without checking the calculation log can be dangerous :-).



Artur Kosakowski
Please use plain text.
Valued Contributor
bjornhgr
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎09-28-2011

Re: Error in unilateral linear release

12-04-2012 10:49 PM in reply to: bjornhgr

Yes! Thanks a lot. Lots of handy options in that parameters dialog box. I'm new to non-linear analyses in Robot, so I haven't really had the time to get to know all the features yet. This forum is awesome though. I've pointed several of my colleagues here, and in many cases the support here is faster (and just as good) than the one we pay for, so thank you!

Please use plain text.