Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Schedules

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Cadmariner
512 Views, 4 Replies

Schedules

I am an electrical contractor trying to create a schedule that will aid in prefab and  layout of devices to be installed. My troubles include adding several instance labels to a component family that will report to a schedule in the format that I choose. In a perfect world these elements would already exist in the OOB objects. I am pretty good at reverse engineering things. I have been able to accomplish the afforementioned in the AutoCAD world through dynamic blocks. 

After I place the component, I would like to be able to change the instance label with information that will aid in my prefab/field lists. What direction do I need to head? I would also like to have the opportunity to have this information visible in plan view to help the installer correlate the ID Labels on the schedule to the shop drawing. I have already created parameters that can be reported to a schedule and be changed after component placement, I am interested in having dual purpose capability. Thanks.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
L.Maas
in reply to: Cadmariner

It seems you want to use tags. Tags can read parameters from objects. In the libraries there are already several tags available and you can make your own (or modifying existing ones). You place an object in the model and then you can use tab "Annotate" group "Tags" (e.g. "Tag by Category") and se;lect that object. Tags are families like other objects. You can find the tags in the project browser under the Family Category "Annotation Symbols". If the right tag is not available you can load them from the library or make your own.

Depending on the parameter you read from the object you sometimes can even modify the paramter inside your label.