Revit Architecture

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
Message 1 of 13 (504 Views)
Accepted Solution

Void Visibilty

504 Views, 12 Replies
02-27-2013 10:08 AM

I have a number of families that I have added a void extrusion to. This is to allow the family, mainly outlets and switches, to cut through any wall protecton we apply to a wall. The issue I am having is the geometry of the void is showing where it shouldn't be.

 

As you can see in the Family.jpg the void is only set to visible in Coarse mode and from the Left/Right. However in the Project.jpg you can see the boundry of the void in Fine mode front elevation.

 

Any idea/help with voids not showing up.

Kevin Mulvaney, CAD/Revit Manager
PKA ARCHITECTS
Portland Oregon
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,796
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 2 of 13 (475 Views)

Re: Void Visibilty

02-27-2013 11:40 AM in reply to: kevinmulvaney

Visibility settings don't apply to voids. If you see a void in the project it is because the void is not cutting its host in the family.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
Message 3 of 13 (466 Views)

Re: Void Visibilty

02-27-2013 11:58 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

The void is not for cutting the family geometry, it's for cutting geometry in the project.I have "Cuts with voids when loaded" checked in all families with this same void, and all other settings are the same.

 

 

The Data and Power outlets in the attached have the same void and do not show in elevation.

Kevin Mulvaney, CAD/Revit Manager
PKA ARCHITECTS
Portland Oregon
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,796
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 4 of 13 (463 Views)

Re: Void Visibilty

02-27-2013 12:00 PM in reply to: kevinmulvaney

Are those wall-based families?

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
Message 5 of 13 (451 Views)

Re: Void Visibilty

02-27-2013 01:41 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

Yes, they are all wall based families. Actually they were all built from the same family then tweaked to display different functions. So they all should work the same way.

 

To be clear, the void in the family is being used to cut a "Specialty Equipment" family, specifically wall protection, in the project.

 

Kevin Mulvaney, CAD/Revit Manager
PKA ARCHITECTS
Portland Oregon
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 2,926
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 13 (444 Views)

Re: Void Visibilty

02-27-2013 01:52 PM in reply to: kevinmulvaney

Only elements of specific Categories may be cut in this manner and Specialty Equipment is not one of these. See this WikiHelp page for specific info.

 

Edit: Please note that the above link is regarding Revit 2012. The updated information regarding Revit 2013 exists further down the thread.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
Message 7 of 13 (440 Views)

Re: Void Visibilty

02-27-2013 01:57 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

Acutally I found that Wiki article specifically dealt with 2012, we are on 2013 and Specialty Equipment can be cut with a void. See attached. The Green highlighted Switch has not Cut the wall protection, but the other elements have.

 

I think the Wiki needs updating to reflect the changes in 2013.

Kevin Mulvaney, CAD/Revit Manager
PKA ARCHITECTS
Portland Oregon
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,796
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 8 of 13 (433 Views)

Re: Void Visibilty

02-27-2013 03:21 PM in reply to: kevinmulvaney

Notice, in that article in Wikihelp, it says "In Revit 2012..." The list is not up to date, because in Revit 2013, Specialty Equipment can we cut with a void in family.

 

Something else to clarify: the "cut with voids when loaded" is not suppsed to cut other objects automaticaly. You need to do Cut Geometry > object > family with void, in the project. Kevin, are you sure you are doing this for every instance?

 

The only case when the cut is automatic is when a void has already cut its host in the family editor.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 137
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
Message 9 of 13 (426 Views)

Re: Void Visibilty

02-27-2013 03:52 PM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

My issue is not with the voids cutting when selected, it's the voids displaying when there is nothing for them to cut. It's actually quite sporatic when they do and do not show.

Kevin Mulvaney, CAD/Revit Manager
PKA ARCHITECTS
Portland Oregon
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,796
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 10 of 13 (416 Views)

Re: Void Visibilty

02-27-2013 05:48 PM in reply to: kevinmulvaney

Well, if the family contains a void which has not been used to cut anything, the void will be visible. That's the "normal" behaviour.

 

Another alternative is to use face-based families or wall-based families with voids that cut the host in the family. Then, you would not need to deal with voids, visible or not, or cut geometry, in the project.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Revit Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Revit helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Revit

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Youtube