Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Activate Dimensions Button Missing

16 REPLIES 16
SOLVED
Message 1 of 17
mccourtl
7146 Views, 16 Replies

Activate Dimensions Button Missing

I'm using Revit Arch 11.  I'm going through the No Experience Required book by Eric Wing.  I'm in Chapter 2 and the direction is to select a wall in which no temporary dimension is displayed.  The point of the lesson is to show me there is an activate temporary dimension button on the Options Bar.  Problem is, there is no button.  The only thing that appears is Modify Walls and the rest of the bar is blank.  I'm a Revit newbie so am I missing something obvious?

16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
alan.quinn
in reply to: mccourtl

Since I don’t have access to the book you are using I’m guessing that it may be a re-write/update of a pervious manual. In earlier version of Revit when you clicked on an object the application could take quite a while to Activate Temporary Dimensions as Revit was looking at all possible objects in the view to place temporary dimensions. As you can imagine this could take some time, so in recent versions a button was added to allow you to turn on Temporary Dimensions if the application had too many choices and internally decided not to turn them on.

I remember occasionally having to turn on Temporary Dimensions in 2010 and 2009, but to date Revit 2011 has always done so itself. I’m assuming when you click on an object you don’t see Temporary Dimension. Is this still the case?

I would appreciate it if you would let me know if this answers your question. If it doesn't, please reply with more information about what you are trying to do so that I can provide a better answer.

Thank you,

Message 3 of 17
Anonymous
Message 4 of 17
Anonymous