Mechanical Desktop

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-09-2003
Message 1 of 14 (59 Views)

Revolving with diameters

59 Views, 13 Replies
09-26-2000 01:10 PM
I have a round part that I have skteched a section view of. It has a construction line for a center line. I have constrained and added dim's to it. The dims being based on a radius because there is not enought of the part yet to make a diameter. Next, I revolve the part. Now, when I go into the layout, I dont get diameters (because I was not able to dim a diameter on a section). I have seen an example of changing the radius dims in the sketch to a diameter but I cant find it.

How does one draw a section for revolving and dimension it with diameters? Do you start with radius dimensions and then somehow change them? Or do you just re-dimension the part in the layout view (which is how I have been doing it)?


Thanks JG
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎05-07-2001
Message 2 of 14 (59 Views)

Re: Revolving with diameters

09-26-2000 01:36 PM in reply to: rockrat
When diming the profile select the centerline first then your cylindrical edge and before you place it, type d for diameter and you will see it pop over to a diametrical dim instead. Hope this helps... Megan (ps call me a nerd, but I love that function)
Active Contributor
Posts: 47
Registered: ‎06-09-2003
Message 3 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

09-27-2000 04:05 AM in reply to: rockrat
You know, I tried that for an hour and didnt get it to work. It never dawned on me that I might have to swap the selection order. Just when you think that you have got it all figgured out, it throws a curve at you. Thanks Megan.
*Hinrichs, Dave
Message 4 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

12-14-2003 05:11 AM in reply to: rockrat
While selection order is important for diameter
dimensions to look pretty, it does not affect the results.


--
Dave Hinrichs
Quannon CAD Systems
quannon.com


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px">
You
know, I tried that for an hour and didnt get it to work. It never dawned on me
that I might have to swap the selection order. Just when you think that you
have got it all figgured out, it throws a curve at you. Thanks
Megan.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎05-07-2001
Message 5 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

12-14-2003 05:11 AM in reply to: rockrat
It does when you are diming a profile! If you don't pick the centerline first then you can't select 'D' for it to change to the proper diametric dim. Not just when dimensioning afterward. Megan 'know what I mean?'
*Hinrichs, Dave
Message 6 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

12-14-2003 05:11 AM in reply to: rockrat
Try it selection order is irrelevant when you want
the "d" option. The resulting dimension may look ugly however. Of course we are
using ampardim as ampowerdim does not have the "d" option.

 

BTW, I have tested this in MDT 2, MDT 3, MDT 4 and
MDT 5 all with the latest service packs.

--
Dave
Hinrichs
Quannon CAD Systems
quannon.com


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px">
It
does when you are diming a profile! If you don't pick the centerline first
then you can't select 'D' for it to change to the proper diametric dim. Not
just when dimensioning afterward. Megan 'know what I
mean?'
*Keller, Kent
Message 6 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

12-14-2003 05:11 AM in reply to: rockrat
Works either way for me!

--
Kent Keller
Strobe Data Inc.
www.strobedata.com

"femcadder" wrote in message
news:ef45430.3@WebX.SaUCah8kaAW...
> It does when you are diming a profile! If you don't pick the centerline
first then you can't select 'D' for it to change to the proper diametric
dim. Not just when dimensioning afterward. Megan 'know what I mean?'
>
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎05-07-2001
Message 8 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

12-14-2003 05:11 AM in reply to: rockrat
I got what you are saying.... Now why on earth would you want to dim your part with diameter facing the wrong way? HEAVEN help the next drafter that has to see that!!!
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 487
Registered: ‎05-07-2001
Message 8 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

12-14-2003 05:11 AM in reply to: rockrat
Okay, I just tried it and it is like I said. I will run through what I just did. Make a rectangle, make a line as your centerline somewhere outside of the part, make that center line have a line type of center, profile both line and rect. now dim it... grab the line of the rec closest to the center line, then the line before anything else type 'D'. If I do that I get a dim that goes from the center to twice as far away as the line, past the line. If I go to the center line first then the line, then type 'D' I get what you would expect, a dim from the line of the rectangle over the center line into space where the other side of a diameter would be. Megan... PS This is my experience in MDT 2 thru 4... Don't know about 5...
*Hinrichs, Dave
Message 10 of 14 (59 Views)

Re:

12-14-2003 05:11 AM in reply to: rockrat
like I said ugly but still functional.


--
Dave Hinrichs
Quannon CAD Systems
quannon.com


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px">
Okay,
I just tried it and it is like I said. I will run through what I just did.
Make a rectangle, make a line as your centerline somewhere outside of the
part, make that center line have a line type of center, profile both line and
rect. now dim it... grab the line of the rec closest to the center line, then
the line before anything else type 'D'. If I do that I get a dim that goes
from the center to twice as far away as the line, past the line. If I go to
the center line first then the line, then type 'D' I get what you would
expect, a dim from the line of the rectangle over the center line into space
where the other side of a diameter would be. Megan... PS This is my experience
in MDT 2 thru 4... Don't know about 5...

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing Community
The Manufacturing Community provides additional access to tips, tutorials, blogs and networking with peers.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community