Inventor General

Reply
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-05-2008
Message 1 of 5 (713 Views)

Switching between Parallels and boot Camp with Inventor

713 Views, 4 Replies
08-17-2011 07:33 AM

I have recently purchased a MacBook Pro and originally thought that I would be able to switch between boot camp and parrallels to run Inventor.  After reading several threads there seems to be a problem with the Inventor Licience breaking if you switch from on enviroment to the other.

 

Has anyone tried using the Lic. Transfer Utility when switching between the two.  I know it sounds like a hassel, but shouldn't that work?  I sure that isn't how it Utilily was designed, but since the program thinks that you have changed computers?

 

I haven't tried this personnelly, but really that Inventor running thru boot camp would be the best enviroment for serious work and I could use parrallels when I need to less intensive design or reveiw?

 

Does this make sense?

 

I have loaded parrallels 6 and windows 7 as a virtual machine with boot camp.  I haven't loaded Inventor but plan on doing that today? 

 

jp

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-05-2008
Message 2 of 5 (686 Views)

Re: Switching between Parallels and boot Camp with Inventor

08-18-2011 06:54 AM in reply to: jpeters

Ok,  So yesterday I loaded inventor and used the transfer utility to switch computers as it was intended.  This works perfectly and doesn't take any time at all.  Enter user id and password.  I will try switching between parrallels and boot camp later today if I am brave enough.  I want to see how robost inventor is on my Macbook Pro with parrallels.

 

I like the idea of switching back and forth between boot camp and parrallels, but honestly don't want the hassel if I have to re-install or it crashes.  I am hoping that using the Licience Utiliy will solve the problem since the copy of inventor would be registered when I make the switch.

 

Since you run the application outside of inventor.  I will post later and let everyone know who it goes?

Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-05-2008
Message 3 of 5 (660 Views)

Re: Switching between Parallels and boot Camp with Inventor

08-25-2011 06:48 AM in reply to: jpeters

Run into an unecpected issue. I have not problem running Lic Utility from parrallels with Windows 7 as virtual machine.  So I reboot the system and switch to boot camp running the same virtual machine.  The Lic Utility starts but says the clock and date are incorrect even though they are displayed properly.  

 

When I check system clock all seems to be correct.  The Lic Utlility still will not run?  Not sure why this would happen, but until I solve this problem I guess my solution will not work properly.  It would be great if someone else would try the utility and let me know if it runs properly on their system.

 

I am pretty sure this would resolve the Lic. problem that others have posted as the idea with the Utiliity is that you have a second system that you would take in the field.

Distinguished Contributor
joshpurple
Posts: 466
Registered: ‎05-30-2003
Message 4 of 5 (424 Views)

Re: Switching between Parallels and boot Camp with Inventor

10-16-2012 10:22 AM in reply to: jpeters

Hi JP, 

 

Bummer to hear about the Licensing issues, hope you've had some luck resolving it.

 

I have a very similar issue;

 

I'm using Parrallels on a Mac Pro (Lion);  My Boot Camp is using Windows 7 64bit, -where I have the Autodesk Entertainment Creation Suite Ultimate installed.
When I just run Boot Camp, and then run Windows 7 64bit, using the Autodesk ENCSU, the licensing and activation works great.
When I run Parrallels, and then run Autodesk 3ds Max 2013 64bit, the license error results.  Requiring that I 'Repair' and re-activate my license.
When I run Boot Camp after using Parrallels, the 3ds Max 2013 64bit license still requires 'Repair' and re-activation.
 
This happens each time I run Parrallels, and run 3ds Max 2013 64bit.
 
I contacted Parrallels support about this, and I'm waiting to hear back from them.
 
I asked Autodesk Support about this, and I received this reply;
-----------------------------------------------------------

For your consideration:

 

Kindly note that many answers to a wide variety of enquiries can be found on the Autodesk website by typing key words associated with your question or with the issue you are currently facing.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/u/gsearch/results?x=9&y=5&siteID=123112&catID=123155&id=2088334...

 

 

 

Thank you for contacting Autodesk.

--------------------------------------------------------------

 

I'll continue searching for solutions, and if I hear of anything I'll be sure to let you know :smileyhappy:

 

I have also been using VMware, -where the licensing issues have not been a problem

(and the graphics seem to support more than just the OpenGL drivers).

 

All my best!

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,267
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 5 of 5 (412 Views)

Re: Switching between Parallels and boot Camp with Inventor

10-16-2012 11:12 AM in reply to: joshpurple

Kevin Schnieder from Autodesk runs Inventor on a Mac.

He hangs out over in the Inventor Fusion forum.

You might post your question there as well.

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube