Inventor General

Reply
Active Member
sgriffith
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 1 of 5 (443 Views)

Show the " symbol in dimensions

443 Views, 4 Replies
08-24-2011 12:54 PM

How do I make inventor show the " symbol while dimensioning?  It will show when using architectural units but not in decimal.  R2012

 

Thanks,

 

Scott

Product Support
Daniela_Koloszko
Posts: 245
Registered: ‎06-23-2010
Message 2 of 5 (416 Views)

Re: Show the " symbol in dimensions

08-25-2011 12:14 AM in reply to: sgriffith

There is a character map in the dimension dialog box where you can select any symbol you like to use in that dimension, including “. Please see attached image.



Daniela Koloszko

*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 2,827
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 3 of 5 (397 Views)

Re: Show the " symbol in dimensions

08-25-2011 05:59 AM in reply to: sgriffith

If you want to use it all the time like we do, modify the settings of your dimension style.  Under the Text tab there is a box for Suffix.  If you put the " in there, it will show up an ony dimension placed using that style.

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Active Member
sgriffith
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-20-2011
Message 4 of 5 (389 Views)

Re: Show the " symbol in dimensions

08-25-2011 06:19 AM in reply to: cbenner

I have put it in the suffix field, but then that just puts it at the end of the dimension string after tolerance info or any other text that may be added.

 

The Architectural dimension style puts it in the correct spot, but then the dimension is in ft and fractional inches.  In MDT there was an Engineering dimension style that put the inch symbol in the correct location but it is not available in inventor.

 

Copying the Architectural dimension style and modifying it also does not work either.

 

Thanks,

 

Scott

Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 5 of 5 (178 Views)

Re: Show the " symbol in dimensions

12-28-2012 01:47 PM in reply to: sgriffith

I've run into the same issue using decimal dimensioning and alternate metric units shown I want to display the inch symbol (") not in.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube