Inventor General

Reply
*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 599
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 1 of 10 (317 Views)

FEA Warnings: No Contacts Attached

317 Views, 9 Replies
01-15-2013 01:46 PM

So I'm working on a traffic rated utility vault cover right now, and I'm doing some FEA runs on my cover design.  My initial run showed me that I needed a little bit of extra strength in a couple places.  My welds on this design are stitched.  Initially I used 3" welds on 5" centers.  To add a little more strength, I increased the welds to 4" welds on 6" centers... and that's where the fun started.

 

When I went back into the stress analysis environment I (obviously) needed to update the contacts.  Once I did this, I clicked simulate ... and got a warning about bodies with no contacts attached.  So far, the only way that I've found to make this go away is to delete the whole simulation and then create a brand new one.  Anyone have any better ideas or workarounds?  Anyone know of a way to delete all the automatic and manual contacts and start over without deleting the whole simulation?

 

Unfortunately there is no way to predict which assembly this will happen with - just now I spent a few minutes to create an example that I could post here, and of course no matter what I couldn't get that to spit up the same error messages.

 

I can share the data set that's currently giving me problems with Autodesk, but unfortunately I can't just post it here since it's a new product under development.

 

 


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / 2xRadeonHD 4870 in CrossfireX
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Employee
Posts: 634
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 2 of 10 (299 Views)

Re: FEA Warnings: No Contacts Attached

01-15-2013 04:42 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty

Hi L.T. Rusty,

 

  If you can email the dataset to me, we can take a look at why the message is being thrown.  hughDOThendersonATautodeskDOTcom.

 

  That said, there isn't a way to delete the Auto-contacts that I know of.  One workaround could be to create a new simulation, then Copy the loads, constraints, etc. and paste them in the new simulation.  You can RMB=> paste on the "new simulation" top node in the browser, not having to paste directly on the Loads browser node (for example).

 

Best regards, -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 599
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 3 of 10 (284 Views)

Re: FEA Warnings: No Contacts Attached

01-16-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: henderh

As soon as I can get it to throw up that error message again I'll email you the files.  I suspect I'll get something today.  It just feels like one of those days.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / 2xRadeonHD 4870 in CrossfireX
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 599
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 4 of 10 (279 Views)

Re: FEA Warnings: No Contacts Attached

01-16-2013 08:15 AM in reply to: henderh

Okay, check your email Hugh.  I really appreciate your looking into this for me!


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / 2xRadeonHD 4870 in CrossfireX
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Employee
Posts: 634
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 5 of 10 (269 Views)

Re: FEA Warnings: No Contacts Attached

01-16-2013 09:44 AM in reply to: LT.Rusty

Hi L.T.Rusty,

 

  I've received your email and dataset.  We're looking into it and will let you know our findings as soon as possible.

 

  Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we apologize for the inconvenience this is causing.

 

Best regards, -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 599
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 6 of 10 (267 Views)

Re: FEA Warnings: No Contacts Attached

01-16-2013 09:46 AM in reply to: henderh

Thank you sir! 

 

Of course with the way my luck is running this week, even with the data set the issue won't reproduce on your computer.  :smileyhappy:


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / 2xRadeonHD 4870 in CrossfireX
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Employee
Posts: 634
Registered: ‎06-07-2007
Message 7 of 10 (257 Views)

Re: FEA Warnings: No Contacts Attached

01-16-2013 12:42 PM in reply to: LT.Rusty

You're more than welcome Sir! :smileyhappy:

 

  The issue is logged into our internal tracking database as 1489876, on it's way to Development for further investigation.

 

   Thanks again for bringing this to our attention.  Please let us know if you have any additional questions, comments or suggestions.

 

Best regards, -Hugh



Hugh Henderson
Simulation QA Engineer
DLS
Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Message 8 of 10 (57 Views)

Re: FEA Warnings: No Contacts Attached

02-24-2014 06:43 AM in reply to: henderh

Any news on this issue?

I'm currently working on the 2014 version and I'm also getting that warning on several ocations. I don't know if the original post was about an assembly or a multibody part. I'm working with a multibody part. I've tried to create a manual contact between the part the message warns me about and the adjacent parts but it says it already exists (even tho the browser doesn't show them). When I run the simulation it behaves like in fact all the bonded contacts between the parts exists and after that the contacts appear in the browser. Is this some "bug" or something that I should just ignore or am I missing something else?

 

Thank you for your response

*Expert Elite*
LT.Rusty
Posts: 599
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Message 9 of 10 (53 Views)

Re: FEA Warnings: No Contacts Attached

02-24-2014 06:50 AM in reply to: sebastian.sosa

sebastian.sosa wrote:

Any news on this issue?

I'm currently working on the 2014 version and I'm also getting that warning on several ocations. I don't know if the original post was about an assembly or a multibody part. I'm working with a multibody part. I've tried to create a manual contact between the part the message warns me about and the adjacent parts but it says it already exists (even tho the browser doesn't show them). When I run the simulation it behaves like in fact all the bonded contacts between the parts exists and after that the contacts appear in the browser. Is this some "bug" or something that I should just ignore or am I missing something else?

 

Thank you for your response


 

 

The problem that I was having was with an assembly with welds, and how Inventor was auditing the contacts between the welds and the parts.  Short version, if I did something that reduced the number of weld beads (for instance going from a 1-3 stagger to a 3-5 stagger over the same seam length), then went back to the simulation, Inventor would barf on it because it was expecting to find X number of bodies in the weld object, but there were suddenly less bodies than it was expecting, and it got confused about contacts at that point.

 

The problem it sounds like you're having ... I'd recommend spinning your multibody solid off into an assembly instead, and then re-run your simulation that way.


___________________________________________________________

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2013, 2014

Work: Dell Precision T1600 (Xeon E3-1280 / 16GB / 512 GB SSD / 250 GB (Internal) / 1 TB (External) / Quadro 600)
Home: i7-4770k / ASUS Z87-Pro / 16GB / 250 GB SSD / 1 TB HDD / 3 TB USB3 HDD / 2xRadeonHD 4870 in CrossfireX
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite P755-S5269 (i7-2630QM / 8 GB / 250 GB SSD / 750 GB HDD / GT540M)

Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
Message 10 of 10 (43 Views)

Re: FEA Warnings: No Contacts Attached

02-24-2014 08:06 AM in reply to: LT.Rusty

Hello, and thank you for your response.

I have, in fact, changed some parameters and minor geometry in between simulation runs (I forgot to tell that in my last post) , but I haven't changed the number of bodies of the part. It seems to be an issue with some "random" changes in the part/assembly because it's not a warning that I get every time that I make a change but I do get it more that I would want (getting warnings when performing a simulation is not an ideal situation). But since the warning dissapears when I run a second simulation after the one with the warning (being that the contacts appear on the browser after the one with the warning) I was hoping it was nothing to be too concerned about because regenerate all the constraints and loads every time I get this error would be very time consuming sometimes and on that note, I wouldn't know if the warning would appear again if I make a change on the original part ((assuming I use the "make components" option to create the assembly and keep the link to modify just the original multibody part because that's where all the rules between parts are) or if it would have the same behavior since your issue was with an assembly.


Thanks again for your response,

 

Best Regards

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube