Inventor General

Reply
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 1 of 5 (640 Views)
Accepted Solution

Drawing of Frame Generator Model

640 Views, 4 Replies
11-08-2012 10:23 AM

Inventor Pro 2012

 

After creating the desired frame using frame generator, I am creating a detail drawing.

 

When I insert the parts list, the info applied is using the full length of the tubes before it was cut to fit. (to get rid of the over lap edges of the frame)

 

Attached is the part file used to create the frame. (Can't attached the frame, too big) I used

 

Also attached is the drawing to help clarify the issue.

 

Total length of the frame is 116.75"

In reality is it made up of 2 short end pieces 23.375" +   2 x for pocket tubes (10") plus the center tube  50"

 

23.375+23.375+10+10+50=116.75"

 

Now from my part file, i just made 3 lines for the total length and 2 intersecting lines for the fork pockets. The parts list is using the initial creation length and not the altered cut length? Does this make any sense?

 

How can I get the parts list to represent values after a cut is done to the tube?

 

thanks

 

Sean

 

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 2,832
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 2 of 5 (632 Views)

Re: Drawing of Frame Generator Model

11-08-2012 11:17 AM in reply to: SeanFarr

What expression are you using in the Part Number field that goes out to your Parts List?  I'm guessing it's Stock Number plus B_L?

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

Valued Mentor
BLHDrafting
Posts: 350
Registered: ‎10-12-2012
Message 3 of 5 (622 Views)

Re: Drawing of Frame Generator Model

11-08-2012 12:49 PM in reply to: SeanFarr

Was thinking the same thing. By default B_L is used (Base length ?) but what you want is G_L (Geometry Length ?) which is the end to end length including the end treatments.

Brendan Henderson

Web www.blh.com.au
Twitter @BLHDrafting

Windows 7 x64 -64 GB Ram, Intel Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz
ATI FirePro V7800 2 GB, 180 GB SSD & 1 TB HDD, Inv R2013 PDS Premium SP2 Update 3 (Build 200), Vault 2013 Workgroup Update 2 (Build 17.2.9.0)
Active Contributor
danny
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎02-16-2012
Message 4 of 5 (596 Views)

Re: Drawing of Frame Generator Model

11-09-2012 03:14 AM in reply to: SeanFarr

Hi,

 

 Your model is missing the .iam file.

Regards
Danny

Inventor 2014 sp1 | Vault basic 2014 | HP Elitebook 8670W | win7 64b | 8Gb | GMT +1
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 5 of 5 (579 Views)

Re: Drawing of Frame Generator Model

11-09-2012 05:45 AM in reply to: danny

Hey Danny,

 

Yea I mentioned in the OP that the assembly is too large to attach, and I figured that it wasn't necessary to help with the solution. I think the maximum upload limit for the forum is ~1.5MB.

 

I did somewhat come across a solution. the terms B_L and G_L (didn't know what they meant before this topic)  helped do a better search in this forum which brought me to the older post:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor/2012-Frame-Generator-G-L-Parameter-won-t-update/td-p...

 

It seems that there was a known issue with the parameters updating after end treatments in 2012. So a hotfix was issued and a macro was created to fix already created frames.

 

This seemed like a good enough reason to just go ahead and stop my current projects and install Inventor Pro 2013.

 

I have installed, set up and created a frame similar to the one in 2012. I then created a drawing and the parts list DOES indeed show the cut-length after end treatments were applied.

 

Basic drawing example is attached in 2013 format.

 

Thanks to all who had input!!!

 

Sean Farr

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube