Inventor General

Reply
Mentor
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 1 of 4 (927 Views)
Accepted Solution

Design Assistant - Dont rename model tree names

927 Views, 3 Replies
02-08-2013 03:31 AM

Good morning all, 

 

Here when i wanna use a existent project to make a new one, i copy all the files that I need to a new project, then I use Design Assistant to rename all files, everything works fine this way. I just saw now a little 'problem' that doesnt bother me, but can be a problem to other ppl who open this project and see the difference.

The problem:

When I rename the file name from Design Assistant (opening it from the top assembly), all the parts get its PART NUMBER updated and all the files are renamed too, but...when i open the assembly, in the Model tree, no parts have the name updated, all keeps the old name, but if i open the part from the model tree, i open the correct part already updated and renamed, so, its just the model tree displays name that are incorrect. Is that known ? Is there a solution ? Or am I doing something wrong to copy or rename files ?

 

I realized that is happens most when i rename files from a top assembly with subassemblies. Sometimes when i use just one assemblie with just parts inside it, everything goes normal.

 

I'm using IV 2013 Pro SP 1.1 Update 1

 

Thanks

Túlio Barata

IV 2013
Valued Mentor
coreyparks
Posts: 433
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 2 of 4 (902 Views)

Re: Design Assistant - Dont rename model tree names

02-08-2013 08:42 AM in reply to: tuliobarata

I use design assistant all the time and I only see this issue occasionally.  This occurs due to a couple of different things that I know of, though there may be more reasons.  First, is the names of custom parts placed from the content center don't seem to update.  Second, parts created from the frame generator don't update.  Third, parts that have been manually renamed in the browser or have been renamed using some custom VBA will not always change upon a rename in design assistant.  These are the ones I have run accross but like I said there may be others.  You can rename them automatically based on some different criteria inside Inventor.  See the pic below.Rename browser.PNG

Please mark this response "Accept as solution" if it answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Corey Parks
IV2012 Factory Design Suite Ultimate 64bit
Includes: Inventor Professional, AutoCAD Architecture & Navisworks Manage
Windows 7 64 bit- Synergis Adept document management software
16gb RAM --- Nvidia Quadro 4000 2gb
*Pro
sbixler
Posts: 1,847
Registered: ‎09-15-2003
Message 3 of 4 (901 Views)

Re: Design Assistant - Dont rename model tree names

02-08-2013 08:50 AM in reply to: tuliobarata

It's a problem for me in a different way-- I don't want the part number to change when I change the filename, so every single file requires a right click>Reset in the part number after I change the file name.  Gets really tedious!

 

Concerning your problem with the Assembly browser names, I am not seeing this.  All the file names in my assembly are updated to the new names.  Is it possible that someone or some add-in or some iLogic rule  is overriding those names in the assembly?  Try deleting one of the names in the Assembly browser and see if it is re-created properly.

Sam B
Inventor 2012 Certified Professional

Please click "Accept as Solution" if this response answers your question.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Inventor Professional 2013 SP1.1 Update 1
Windows XP Pro 32-bit, SP3
HP EliteBook 8730w; 4 GB RAM; Core™ 2 Duo T9400 2.53 GHz; Quadro FX2700M
SpaceExplorer/SpaceNavigator NB, driver 3.7.18
still waiting for a foreshortened radius dimensioning tool in Drawing Manager

Mentor
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
Message 4 of 4 (867 Views)

Re: Design Assistant - Dont rename model tree names

02-15-2013 11:06 AM in reply to: sbixler

THanks for both guys!

 

I guess , this was a problem of communication here in the office. I spoke with some people here, and they said that renamed some files in the model tree, right in the assemblies that i was trying to use with Design Assist. so, good to know about that, lets see if that doesnt happen anymore, its annoying.

 

Thanks very much, again!

 

Túlio Barata.

IV 2013

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube