Inventor General

Reply
Active Member
michael
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-20-2011
Message 1 of 8 (444 Views)

Cannot select hole edges when creating hole table

444 Views, 7 Replies
11-19-2012 06:20 PM

I have had this problem intermittently for a few weeks since going to Inventor 2013 SP1.1.  I have a part within an assembly and that part has holes created in it before assembling it with other parts.  Now when I try and create a hole table in a drawing of the assembly I cannot select hole edges and the hole table is blank when trying to create it automatically from view selection.  I originally thought it may be an alignment issue but I have since aligned everything correctly and it still persists.  I can create the hole table if I import in just the part into the drawing but it will not allow me to create the table on the whole assembly. 

 

I can also create the hole table if I use "centred pattern" and create cross hairs on all of the holes however it does not give me correct annotations for the holes as shown in attachment and I can manually change the annotations but seriously this should not be required.  As shown in the screen shot it reads as A1 down to K1 instead of A1 to A10.  Very frustrating problem.

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 593
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 2 of 8 (410 Views)

Re: Cannot select hole edges when creating hole table

11-21-2012 10:25 PM in reply to: michael

Hi,

 

Can you please send us the relevant model and the drawing file to troubleshoot further.



Vinod Balasubramanian
Valued Mentor
mpatchus
Posts: 437
Registered: ‎10-22-2008
Message 3 of 8 (377 Views)

Re: Cannot select hole edges when creating hole table

11-27-2012 04:18 AM in reply to: michael

Make sure the "holes" were created with the hole tool and not simply extruded circles.

Mike Patchus

Inventor 2012 SP3 ~ Vault Pro 2013
==================
Lenovo D20 Workstation Intel Xenon E5640@2.67GHz (2)
Win 7, 24gb RAM, NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800

Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or Kudos button below. :smileyhappy:
Active Member
michael
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-20-2011
Message 4 of 8 (357 Views)

Re: Cannot select hole edges when creating hole table

11-27-2012 02:39 PM in reply to: mpatchus

mpatchus wrote:

Make sure the "holes" were created with the hole tool and not simply extruded circles.


Yes they are holes thanks Mike. 

 

Good call though; as this is something I had initially overlooked when having previous issues.

Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 593
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 5 of 8 (328 Views)

Re: Cannot select hole edges when creating hole table

12-02-2012 07:20 PM in reply to: michael

Sorry Michael for the delay. I couldn't able to open up the file as there are unresolved references. Can you able to do a packngo of the dataset and send it to me. I will create a secure FTP to upload the files for investigation.

 

Looking forward to your reply.



Vinod Balasubramanian
Product Support
VinodBalasubramanian
Posts: 593
Registered: ‎09-30-2007
Message 6 of 8 (305 Views)

Re: Cannot select hole edges when creating hole table

12-05-2012 05:43 PM in reply to: michael



Thank you for submitting your question in our discussion forums.

The issue that you describe has been reported by other customers to Autodesk and is being researched by our development team.

I will keep you posted on the updates soon.



Vinod Balasubramanian
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 7 of 8 (213 Views)

Re: Cannot select hole edges when creating hole table

05-02-2013 07:52 AM in reply to: michael

Has a solution been found for this problem? I am having the same problem. I can bring a part in and generate a hole table no problem but when I try to do so with an assembly the hole table will not let me select any of the holes. This is potentially a serious problem that could cause us alot of headache if it is not resolved, so any help would be appreciated.

Active Member
michael
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-20-2011
Message 8 of 8 (196 Views)

Re: Cannot select hole edges when creating hole table

05-02-2013 04:20 PM in reply to: michael

I have not heard any response on this issue being resolved yet sorry.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube