Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Total activation/registration mess

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
rj
Participant
581 Views, 5 Replies

Total activation/registration mess

Hi,

while I can understand a software companys needs to protect it's software, I certainly cannot understand why the company has to do SUCH A TERRIBLE MESS of it for the customer.

Downloaded Revit 2014, tested, after 30 days test license ran out. For a complete newbie/hobby/future own-house tinkerer way too short, but ok.

I bought the Revit LT Suite 2014.

After the buy (some 24h later) came some emails containing "Product-SKU" numbers for the suite and the subscription. These come in a  123A5-ABC45-1234 alphanumeric format.

When trying to activate Revit, it wants a serial number and a product key.

???

The serial number is expected in format 123-12345678

And the product key - who knows?

Needles to say that any attempt to forge the SKU into the required things failed. Oh yes and the very helpful "help" question marks tat say "You find these on the product package". Great if you did an online download.

Same mess when I try an online registration.

So I thought: Well, perhaps I have to deinstall Revit and start anew. Ok it is a shame to again shove 6GB through the internet, but what the heck.

So I tried to deinstall Revit - and failed. Because it stood there saying "Deinstalling..." and did nothing for 10 minutes.

I have an SSD and it should have done a little bit - no?

Tried to cancel. Didn't react. Tried to close window. Didn't react. So I killed it from the task manager. Yeah that did it.

Now I can start Revit - of course bouncing into the "activate" mode. But I cannot deinstall it "Could not be deinstalled" I cannot repair it "could not be repaired".