Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-12-2013
Message 1 of 3 (254 Views)

Smoke 2013 trial install error

254 Views, 2 Replies
03-12-2013 11:33 AM

I had been using the smoke for mac 2013 trial for a few days, and went to render out a test clip which failed, uncovering a very bizarre apache/lion glitch, which required a reinstall of the OS. Backburner/wiretap seem to be running great according to the web app, but now when I attempt to launch Smoke, instead of being greeted with a continue button, I am asked to activate. I have reinstalled twice now, and have removed usr/discreet through terminal, with no effect. Anyone seen this before?

 

Thanks,

-Sean

Product Support
Robert.Adam
Posts: 2,415
Registered: ‎08-25-2010
Message 2 of 3 (229 Views)

Re: Smoke 2013 trial install error

03-13-2013 05:43 AM in reply to: Seandonnelly

Hi Sean.

 

Did you format your system drive when you reinstalled the OS, or did you simply install on top of the existing OS?

If you reinstalled on top of the existing OS, there might be file permission or file date issues that are preventing the trial license from working. 

 

Open the Disk Utility app from Applications > Utilities, select your system drive, go to the First Aid tab and click Verify Permissions. If the application finds any permissions errors, click Repair Permissions, restart your Mac and see if that fixes the issue.

 

BTW: What version of Mac OS are you running now? Is it still Lion?

 

Regards,

Robert.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Flame and Smoke Customer Support
If my answer solved your issue, please click "Accept as Solution"
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-12-2013
Message 3 of 3 (223 Views)

Re: Smoke 2013 trial install error

03-13-2013 07:09 AM in reply to: Seandonnelly

Thanks Robert, I'm running 10.7.3 now. It was a clean install, but I did use migration assistant to carry over my settings, etc. 

 

Permissions have been repaired, no change. Is there an easy way to fix a creation date issue?

 

 

-Sean

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube