Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Mentor
AJA14
Posts: 450
Registered: ‎11-01-2011
Message 1 of 7 (2,962 Views)

Installation Failure Revit 2014

2962 Views, 6 Replies
05-08-2013 10:27 PM

Hi. Just wondering if anyone here has any problems with installation of Revit 2014.

RAC 2014 downloads and installs with no problems.

However, I tried installing Revit 2014 as a standalone free trial and when I try to install it after the download is over I get this:

Installation Error

The IT also tried to download the entire suite and when they try to install Revit 2014, they get the same error.

 

All three causes listed above are not applicable.

 

Any ideas would be appreciated.

 

Regards,

 

 

Ali Al-Hammoud
Structural Design Engineer
MZ & Partners Engineering Consultancy
*Expert Elite*
edwin.prakoso
Posts: 197
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 2 of 7 (2,925 Views)

Re: Installation Failure Revit 2014

05-10-2013 01:14 AM in reply to: AJA14

Hi Ali,

 

Were you using 'install now' option? If you were, check this article: http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2013/05/install-now-doesnt-not-mean-install-later.html

 

Kind regards,
Edwin Prakoso | www.cad-notes.com | @CADnotes

If this post solve your issue, please mark this post as solution. It will help others who have the same issue to find solution.
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-22-2013
Message 3 of 7 (2,706 Views)

Re: Installation Failure Revit 2014

05-22-2013 11:36 AM in reply to: AJA14

So what you're telling me is, when your installer fails (cause it will) I have to re-download 200 MB installer, then DL another 100 MB to actually run the installer, THEN DL another 2.95 GB of data to actually install the product. 

 

And when it fails somewhere in there, I have to do that ALL over again? For EVERY install? Talk about a waste of bandwidth/time/resources.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,573
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 7 (2,698 Views)

Re: Installation Failure Revit 2014

05-22-2013 12:55 PM in reply to: rcraine

Correct.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
*Expert Elite*
edwin.prakoso
Posts: 197
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 5 of 7 (2,680 Views)

Re: Installation Failure Revit 2014

05-22-2013 07:23 PM in reply to: rcraine

The install now option for software trials is designed for 1 time install only. For subscription customers, they can download from subscription center. And I assume Autodesk will want us to contact local reseller if we want to try on several machines. 

I understand that this is become a common issue, and many can't install the trial product. I also hope this issue will be resolve soon.

 

You can alternatively download the software using virtual agent. Go to this page http://www.autodesk.com/customerservice.

Click ask to open virtual agent. You can download your product there. But you only have browser download option on that page.

Kind regards,
Edwin Prakoso | www.cad-notes.com | @CADnotes

If this post solve your issue, please mark this post as solution. It will help others who have the same issue to find solution.
Member
DHZ-Phoenix
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Message 6 of 7 (1,806 Views)

Re: Installation Failure Revit 2014

09-18-2013 11:13 AM in reply to: edwin.prakoso

I have the same problem so I tried all other options.

- The Install Now options gets stuck at 78 MB of downloading Revit.

- The Download doesn't start and the next time I try, it will give me the message shown above.

- The Browser Download loses connection to the server after 2 minutes.

 

I don't know if Autodesk has problems with the Revit 2014 download server but it is getting slighly annoying after 10 attempts...

 

Might there be another solution that is not so obvious ? Download via a 3rd party download manager or something of the sort ?

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,573
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 7 (1,800 Views)

Re: Installation Failure Revit 2014

09-18-2013 11:29 AM in reply to: DHZ-Phoenix

Redownload the software using Matt, the virtual assistant.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=21889745&linkID=9240617

 

Good Luck!

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube