Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
MatthiasKahlert4511
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Message 1 of 7 (1,001 Views)

Install Revit-server 2014 with remote storage

1001 Views, 6 Replies
06-21-2013 02:48 AM

Has anyone yet managed to successfully install Revit Server 2014 with remote storage enabled?

 

When installing Revit-Server 2014 you are prompted to provide a path for project and cache folders, as well as a domain name and the password for the (hardcoded) "revitserverservice" account. But that is not suffcient. The Installation fails with an error 1326 unless the revit-server is actually a member of said domain. (although this is not part of the stated requirements). This has already been the case with Revit-Server 2013 but then this setup worked at least.

In Revit-server 2014 the server does not work with remote storage at all. It is not possible to store files (or access preloaded projects) on the server. The log file AutoSyncLog.log is full of errors.

[snip]
2013-06-10 17:41:30,974 ERROR TID(6) LOGGER(ServerLogger) MSG(Exception: (SQLiteException, Unable to open the database file) StackTrace: [ bei System.Data.SQLite.SQLite3.Open(String strFilename, SQLiteConnectionFlags connectionFlags, SQLiteOpenFlagsEnum openFlags, Int32 maxPoolSize, Boolean usePool)][ bei System.Data.SQLite.SQLiteConnection.Open()][ bei DataStorageDataSync.CacheStatusMetadataStorage.GetCacheStatus()])
2013-06-10 17:41:30,974 ERROR TID(6) LOGGER(ServerLogger) MSG(Exception: (DataSyncException, \\REVIT-SCP01\Test\Cache\LocalServer_Cache.db3)(SQLiteException, Unable to open the database file) StackTrace: [ bei DataStorageDataSync.CacheStatusMetadataStorage.GetCacheStatus()][ bei DataStorageDataSync.ServerSync.SyncToServer(String strUniqueUserIdentity)][ bei DataStorageAutoSyncService.AutoSyncService.AutoSyncWorker()])
2013-06-10 17:41:35,974 ERROR TID(6) LOGGER(ServerLogger) MSG(Exception: (UnauthorizedAccessException, Der Zugriff auf den Pfad "CacheNode_DatabaseInitializationMutex" wurde verweigert.) StackTrace: [ bei System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)][ bei System.Threading.Mutex.OpenExistingWorker(String name, MutexRights rights, Mutex& result)][ bei System.Threading.Mutex.OpenExisting(String name, MutexRights rights)][ bei Autodesk.Revit.RS.Common.ClientServer.Helper.Utils.SharedUtils.getMutexWithGivenName(String strMutexName)])
2013-06-10 17:41:35,974 INFO TID(6) LOGGER(ServerLogger) MSG(Comment: Unable to change permissions for mutex with name: CacheNode_DatabaseInitializationMutex Current user is: PT\RevitServerService)
2013-06-10 17:41:35,974 ERROR TID(6) LOGGER(ServerLogger) MSG(Exception: (UnauthorizedAccessException, Der Zugriff auf den Pfad "CacheNode_DatabaseInitializationMutex" wurde verweigert.) StackTrace: [ bei System.IO.__Error.WinIOError(Int32 errorCode, String maybeFullPath)][ bei System.Threading.Mutex.OpenExistingWorker(String name, MutexRights rights, Mutex& result)][ bei System.Threading.Mutex.OpenExisting(String name, MutexRights rights)][ bei Autodesk.Revit.RS.Common.ClientServer.Helper.Utils.SharedUtils.getMutexWithGivenName(String strMutexName)])
2013-06-10 17:41:35,974 INFO TID(6) LOGGER(ServerLogger) MSG(Comment: ERROR: Was unable to get mutex with name: CacheNode_DatabaseInitializationMutex)
[etc]

In this case the "remote storage" is a share on the server itself, but it also doesn't work on any other fileserver. The Revit server does work though, when configured with local storage.

Have I missed some more preassumed requirements? I would really prefer remote storage as it would make management of backups etc. much easier.

Matthias

Member
MatthiasKahlert4511
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Message 2 of 7 (972 Views)

Re: Install Revit-server 2014 with remote storage

06-25-2013 01:23 AM in reply to: MatthiasKahlert4511

Nobody ever installed revit server 2014 with remote storage?

 

Autodesk?

Product Support
Posts: 341
Registered: ‎11-09-2009
Message 3 of 7 (929 Views)

Re: Install Revit-server 2014 with remote storage

07-02-2013 08:02 AM in reply to: MatthiasKahlert4511

Thank you for your post. I am sorry to read of this ill behavior with your recent installations of RS. In this case have you referred to the help guide from the Wiki Help? I have included the direct steps and information below for reference. I hope this helps. 

Link:http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Revit/enu/2013/Help/00005-More_Inf0/0138-Installa138/0175-Revit_Se175/0... 

Important If you plan to use remote storage for Revit Server data, you must first set up a domain user account with the name RevitServerService (and make sure the machine hosting Revit Server does not have a local account with that same name) and give that account full access to the folder under which Revit Server data will be remotely stored. The account must be a member of the Administrators group, and the password should be set to not expire, because if it changes you will have to update the application pool settings for all instances of Revit Server that use remote storage. During the install you will need to provide the path to the storage folder and enter this password. 

Installing and Configuring Revit Server 

The basic procedure for installing an instance of Revit Server is the same regardless of whether that instance will host central models, cache local models, run the Revit Server Adminstrator, or perform some combination of these roles (Host, Accelerator, and Admin). The installer prompts you to specify which roles you want to be enabled. 

Note: You must allow ICMP requests from Revit application workstations and from Revit Server Accelerators to pass through the firewall to the Revit Server Hosts.


If you have not already done so, install and configure the Revit Server prerequisites. 

 

On the installation page, select Install Tools & Utilities, and accept the license agreement. 

 

On the Configure Installation page, clear any of the check boxes next to components that you do not want to install. 
Select the Revit Server check box (by default, it is not selected). 


Move the cursor over install Revit Server to enable server-based worksharing over the WAN, and select Click to open and configure. 


Note: If you do not open the configuration page, and then select Install, Revit Server will be installed with the default path locations with only the Accelerator role enabled. 


Under Enabled Roles, select one or more roles that you want to be enabled for this instance of Revit Server. 
(optional) Under Data Storage, accept the default locations for the Cache and Projects folders, or select different ones. If you change the drive, it must have the appropriate access rights so the Revit Server can successfully write to it. For best results, set access rights to give full control to the SYSTEM, Administrators, and CREATOR OWNER users for the Cache and Projects folders (including sub-folders and files). 


(optional) Under Data Storage, If you want to use network-attached storage and have set up a RevitServerService domain user account (see System Requirements), select Store data remotely on a network server, and then enter the domain and password for that account. 


Note:If you opt to store data remotely, the paths for the Cache and Projects folders must be fully qualified UNC paths. Mapped drives will not be accepted. 


Select Click to close and return to product list to close this page. 


Click Install. 


ImportantAfter all instances of Revit Server have been installed, the administrator must create a master copy of the RSN.ini file, which identifies instances of Revit Server that have the Host role enabled. A version of this file must then be deployed on all Revit 2013 application workstations as well as all instances of Revit Server for which either the Accelerator or Admin role is enabled. The administrator must also ensure that the RSACCELERATOR2013 environment variable on each Revit application workstation identifies the default Revit Server Accelerator through which the application workstations will connect to the Revit Server Hosts.



Michael Bussiere II
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
MatthiasKahlert4511
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Message 4 of 7 (921 Views)

Re: Install Revit-server 2014 with remote storage

07-02-2013 09:34 AM in reply to: MichaelBussiere2

Thank you Michael for your reply.

 

Of course I have followed the steps outlined in http://wikihelp.autodesk.com/Revit/enu/2014/Help/3763-Installa3763/3765-Revit_Se3765/3772-Installi37... to the letter. I even posted my question there first. (You accidentally quoted the instructions for RS 2013, which are more or less the same.)

 

But it does not work.

 

IIf the RS-machine is not a domain member I always get the attached message below, when I try to configure the installation. Of course I have verified that domainname, username and password are correct. I can access the share on the server with these credentials with no problems. There is no way to even continue the installer. If I stay with local paths the installation works correctly. The only remedy seems to bee to join this server to the domain. I have not found this requirement stated anywhere. This was already the same with RS 2013.

 

At least in RS 2013 this setup then worked.

 

But in RS 2014 this still does not work. Although the RS obviously is able to create files and write to the allocated server share, saving a project or accessing a project I moved there from a local directory fails. I have already quoted an excerpt of the associated server log-file in my first post.

 

Have you ever succeeded in installing a RS (2013 or 2014) on a server that is not a domain member with remote storage? Is domain membership actually a requirement?

 

Have you ever used a RS 2014 with remote storage?

 

Matthias

 

 

 

 

 

 

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-21-2014
Message 5 of 7 (232 Views)

Re: Install Revit-server 2014 with remote storage

03-02-2014 11:44 PM in reply to: MatthiasKahlert4511

Appreciate your advice on this one.  If its already ok.  Thanks.

 

Drive C: Allocated Size (80GB)

·         Windows System  

·         IIS

·         Revit Server (Installation capacity)

o   Do we need to a lot large space for Drive C for the Revit Installation and what is the Size for the installation of a Revit Server?

 

Drive E: Allocated Size (500GB)

·         Revit Data storage

·         Revit Locations for Cache

·         Revit Project Folders

o   Directly linked to Revit Server.

Member
MatthiasKahlert4511
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Message 6 of 7 (224 Views)

Re: Install Revit-server 2014 with remote storage

03-03-2014 12:19 AM in reply to: ellyn
Revit Server software itself is small (a few MB)

How much storage you need for cache and projects depends on your project size but i think 500GB will be plenty.
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-21-2014
Message 7 of 7 (222 Views)

Re: Install Revit-server 2014 with remote storage

03-03-2014 12:21 AM in reply to: MatthiasKahlert4511
Thanks. :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube