Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot Activate Inventor 2012

19 REPLIES 19
Message 1 of 20
iechaurr
4128 Views, 19 Replies

Cannot Activate Inventor 2012

I am a student and I just downloaded Autodesk Inventor Professional 2012 and installed it in my macbook using Parallels Desktop 5. The previous versions i had had, worked well in my virtual machine (im using Windows XP) till this one. Once the installation was finished, a window popped up saying the software was successfully installed, with a FINISH button on the bottom right corner. I clicked the finish button and try to run Inventor by clicking the tab on my desktop to open it, and a message came up saying:

"An Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM. The error report sent to Autodesk may be incomplete."

This message keeps popping out each time i try to run the software. I tried the repair install and didn't work. I sent the error report and the answer i got is that i need to activate the software, but in order to do so i need the Product Request Code which I do not have and I cannot start the product to get it because it has not been activated.  So I am at a loss.  Any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Thank you very much!

19 REPLIES 19
Message 2 of 20
hashim.mundol
in reply to: iechaurr

Please try a clean install and run in diagnostics mode to isolate any 3rd party security issues.

http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS75218

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com

Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Message 3 of 20