Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
rick
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-09-2011
Message 1 of 4 (179 Views)

Best export of Autodesk Architecture 2011 3D model into 3D max?

179 Views, 3 Replies
03-13-2013 04:19 AM

We recently installed a network verion of Building Design Suite (BDS). We previously had 4 standalone seats of Infrastructure Design Suite (IDS). When the network seat of BDS is in use we can't access 3dmax or navisworks although we have sufficient licenses under our standalone IDS. We have been trading e-mails with a subscription tech and now after who knows how many e-mails they are saying we need to uninstall and reinstall IDS. So it appears BDS disabled a properly licensed version of IDS and the burden is on us to reinstall IDS. I would also guess that any time we upgrade BDS we will need to reinstall both. There has to be a better answer than allowing program B to disable program A. They are separate properly licensed programs (at least that's what the many high priced checks for purchases and subscription indicate). Any better ideas than currect suggestion? Thank you!

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,538
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 4 (163 Views)

Re: Best export of Autodesk Architecture 2011 3D model into 3D max?

03-13-2013 07:45 AM in reply to: rick

Mixing network and stand-alone can be hairy, especially when there is product cross-over.  When installing the other suite, you might check to make sure you are not reinstalling the same software overlap.  And even afterwards, you might have to do the registry switch from network to stand-alone.  That *might* work but I am only speculating. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
New Member
rick
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-09-2011
Message 3 of 4 (161 Views)

Re: Best export of Autodesk Architecture 2011 3D model into 3D max?

03-13-2013 08:02 AM in reply to: TravisNave
I appreciate the response. I did try the registry switch from network to standalone and it didn't work. Thanks Richard Grady, P.E. Grady Consulting, LLC 71 Evergreen Street, Suite 1 Kingston, MA 02364 Phone 781.585.2300 Fax 781.585.2378 www.GradyConsulting.com
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,538
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 4 (155 Views)

Re: Best export of Autodesk Architecture 2011 3D model into 3D max?

03-13-2013 08:32 AM in reply to: rick

Yeah, it was worth a shot.  Honestly, I have not gotten it to work since the 2010 release myself.  :smileymad:

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube