Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

29 REPLIES 29
Message 1 of 30
kmfinchpdx
45285 Views, 29 Replies

AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

Will the educational version of AutoCAD run on Windows 8? Microsoft says it's compatible but some people have said it doesn't work. Also wondering about the educational version of Revit.

Tags (2)
29 REPLIES 29
Message 21 of 30
nancya4
in reply to: kmfinchpdx

I have just purchased a new laptop that has Windows 8 on it and I can hardly wait until it is delivered. I am in my last semester of interior design school, and I needed a new machine that would be able to run AutoCad 2013 and Revit 2013 at the same time. It occurred to me that they might not run on Windows 8 and so, after a mild panic attack, I have been reading the forums to find answers. I am encouraged by what I have read, and I have a few answers/explanations for some of the posts.

kmfinchpdx - "UAC" as stated earlier in this thread, is User Access Control and for Windows 7 it is in the Action Center on the control panel. It acts like the parental control on your TV; there are different levels of safety you can choose from.

As for why Windows 8 loads for some people and not others is because there are lots and lots and lots, did I say lots, of different programs that all have their own set of parameters that can be changed. A few of them are: Windows firewall, the web browser you are using, network and internet options, user accounts, credential manager, and the list goes on. Any one of these can cause problems due to their safety settings. I hope this helps clear up your confusion.

Message 22 of 30
ryalexander