Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD 2000/Softdesk8 on Win2K

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
synergy
277 Views, 2 Replies

AutoCAD 2000/Softdesk8 on Win2K

I'm a network support consultant working with a client who is currently running AutoCAD 14/Softdesk8 Architectural Desktop on Win95 workstation/NT4.0 network. She has a copy of AutoCAD 2000 but hasn't upgraded because, according to her, there are some compatibility or file translation problems between AutoCAD 2000 and Softdesk8. We are getting ready to upgrade the entire network to Win2K Server/Workstation. What versions of AutoCAD and Softdesk should she be running for best compatibility? TIA for your answer.
2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
Anonymous
in reply to: synergy

It is not possible to run Softdesk 8 on Autocad 2000. Won't work today, won't work ever.
If she wants to keep S8 she will have to remain on R14 for the rest of her life. There is
no product upgrades planned for any Softdesk modules. The only upgrade path from Softdesk
modules are "desktop" verticals. (Architectural Desktop, Land Development Desktop,
Building Systems Electrical, Mechanical etc).
If you are changing her OS to W2k you may (pronounced will) experience some problems. If
she is using a network version of R14 you'll need to replace the adesksys.dll (see "Error
message when starting a network AutoCAD 2000 license on a Windows 200 client" posted
8/29/01 for additional information, yes I know that person is running AutoCAD 2000, but
it's the same for R14.01). If it's plain R14 (network version) it just won't run on W2k.
I've not tried R14 non network on W2k, but it should work.

There are also some compatibility problems with S8 and W2k. See below for some
information